What the Sam Hill am I doing wrong. Maybe I'm jes' gettin' old!

Been enjoying most everything about MSFS2020 since getting my one good eye working again. Started off with the Cessna 172...NO PROBS. Moved on to the Beech Baron, Pilatus, King Air & Citation. If I recall, I was doing o.k. with ILS until I graduated up to the 787. I remember a few landings where I did lock on to the Glide Slope with this big animal, but it was probably on a few approaches I'm highly familiar with (KMSY, KPNS, etc.), and knew where I had to be. But for the past few weeks, filing flight plans and depending on ATC for guidance, I have accomplished ZILCH! Most always it has been ATC not bringing me down to below the GS. Another prob I'm having with descents and approaches is slowing this monster down to landing speed, even with full flaps and gear down. I started to watch a few youtube vids about the 787 but got bored with all the fluff.

I might add, I never had these problems landing big iron in previous MS Flight Sims issues.

And Sam Hill? An attention getter, and maybe make the young pilots wonder about it.

Thanks Mr. Zippy. I did give that a thought but wondered if that action was done in a real-life situation.

Also, hope you get that new puter soon and start enjoying this latest MS sim. Even with its problems, it is a giant leap over previous versions.

And, let me take this moment to say thanks for all of your sage advice. Most always, you're spot on.

Yep, it does happen in real life! A while back I was on final approach into KJFK in a 757, and for wharever reason it was a pretty steep approach. Those spoilers popped about every 30 seconds for a short period and then reset. It slowed the plane nicely for the landing. It will cause a slight nose up for a few seconds, so be prepared. ;)

Still thinking about a new flightsim only computer!  ✈️