Why FSX is still so good?

gmattiol

Hello everyone. I'm a student journalist based in NYC and a big fan of FSX. I played for at least 10 years now and I realized I want to do a feature story on it. I want to tell how great this program is, how beautiful it can get. tell the story of the people who continue developing it while Microsoft abandoned the project.

If anyone wants to share thoughts or tell me their story on FSX I'd be more than happy to listen.

My email is guglielmo.mattioli@journalism.cuny.edu

Thanks for your help

Cheers

GM

there's 374 (currently) answers to your search in the "sticky" at the top of the page: https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showthread.php?248567-How-do-you-keep-FSX-interesting

WE, the players, the developers, the painters and the screen-shot artists make it so. So say we all.

Personally, I've flown every version since FS4 and each has gotten better. My FSX logbook had more than 11000 hours when I moved over to P3D and I still fly it occasionally.

Loyd

Hooked since FS4... now flying:

self-built i7-4790 at 4 GHz; GA-Z97X mobo; GTX 970; 16GB gskill;

quiet, fast and cool running.

Win 7/64: 840 EVO OS; 840 EVO (500G) game drive;

Win10/64: 850 EVO (500G) for OS and games

A few Flightsim videos on YouTube at CanyonCorners

The Aces team at Microsoft made some mistakes but they also did a lot of things right:

They designed FSX so that it gets better as computers became more powerful.

They built FSX, not as a fixed-in-time application, but as a platform for developers to add on to. So much of FSX is data-driven, and much functionality can be extended or replaced.

They created an SDK that for the most part does not lock developers into a specific tool set. For example you can use free or payware 3D modeling tools, including current versions of Blender or 3dsmax, Visual Studio, modern GIS tools for scenery, current versions of Photoshop or GIMP etc. Development techniques continue to evolve along with the tools.