Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Landing Lights shine

  1. #1

    Default Landing Lights shine

    Hi,

    Have IL96 with landing light switches but no landing lights effect. So have installed and positioned the simple landing lights effects to the [Lights] section of aircraft.cfg:

    light.8=5, 72.70, -3, -3.4,fx_landing,
    light.9=5, 72.70, 3, -3.4,fx_landing,

    The lights show when switched on but no shine effect is visible from the cockpit. Any idea how to install the the landing lights which properly shine on the runway?

    PS tried different landing lights effects including shock wave - all the same, no shine.

    Thanks,
    Peter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,372

    Default

    check fs9.cfg if "SEE_SELF=1" is set.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi, Yes it is set to 1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,372

    Default

    https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...m-Cockpit-View

    I have also read that the lights view from the cockpit are part of the model and if missing, cannot be fixed.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  5. #5

    Default

    Makes sense Chuck. Thanks for looking into it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    7,492

    Default

    If you want to see what's possible, check out the Lotus L-39 Albatross in FSX and P3D (I have V2.4). Somehow he got the lights shining, not only on the pavement, but also on most objects in the sim. I've never seen any other like it. So yes, it's in the model.

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    2,941

    Default

    I've never tried this but maybe a workaround might be to alter the spot view just while to taxi and takeoff.

    Col.

Similar Threads

  1. Dyanmic Shine on aircraft
    By N408BN in forum FS2004
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2004, 05:50 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2003, 05:30 PM
  3. Shine on ..shine on shiny chrome...
    By Bluefin in forum FS2004
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-29-2003, 09:48 PM
  4. Lights lights lights
    By Paul198112 in forum Airport for Windows Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2003, 01:39 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2002, 07:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •