Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lose Landing Lights From Cockpit View

  1. #1

    Question Lose Landing Lights From Cockpit View

    I enjoy adding new aircraft to my hanger but I have twice lost my landing lights, as seen from the cockpit, after doing so and have ended up having to re-load the whole of FS9.

    Can somebody help? What could I be doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, WA, USA.
    Posts
    265

    Default Landing Lights

    Hi zingy, welcome to the FlightSim Forums,

    Seeing landing lights from the cockpit is something that is part of the Model file. If your landing lights don't show from the cockpit, there's not much you can do.

    However, if ALL of your aircraft have the same problem it may be due to a graphics setting in the FS9.cfg file. Under the [GRAPHICS] section should be a line item that reads See_Self=1. If that line is missing or is set to "0", change it back to "1". As always, you should back up the FS9.cfg file before you mess around with it.

    Let us know if any of this helped. If not, please be more specific about the addon aircraft and one of us will try to help again.

    Regards,
    JerryH

  3. #3

    Talking

    Many Thanks JerryH.

    I keep kicking myself for not backing up before loading new aircraft - Oh if only. Still a complete re-load won't do me any harm, except anoying my wife.

    It did apply to all my aircraft so in loading one of the add-ons the FS9 config file must have been affected.

    Next time I will try this before unloading everything.

    Regards
    Zingy:

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, WA, USA.
    Posts
    265

    Default

    Zingy, regarding the FS9.CFG file, you and I may be using different terminology so I'll try to clarify what I meant.

    The FS9.CFG file is a hidden text file in Windows. It isn't stored within the "Flight Simulator 9" folder. To find the file it may first be necessary to change a setting to "Show hidden files". This setting is found in the Tools menu\Folder options\View.

    Then, the file itself is located in Documents and Settings\(User name)\Application Data\Microsoft\FS9\FS9.CFG. Microsoft chose to bury this file so most users couldn't access it and make a mess, so be sure to make a backup copy before you do any editing.

    Most of us use Notepad to edit the text in this file or just to look into it and verify settings. Hope this makes some sense to you.

    Regards,
    JerryH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hammond, IN USA
    Posts
    4,796

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JerryH View Post
    Then, the file itself is located in Documents and Settings\(User name)\Application Data\Microsoft\FS9\FS9.CFG. Microsoft chose to bury this file so most users couldn't access it and make a mess, so be sure to make a backup copy before you do any editing.
    The main reason why the file is located in that folder is so that multiple users of the computer can each have their own unique configuration*!

    It has absolutely nothing to do with trying to "hide the file..."

    * NOTE: an interesting side-effect of this is that this also allows the same User to have multiple Sign-In accounts, so that he/she can maintain separate configurations based on different flying scenarios, such as "Bush Flying," "General Aviation," and/or "Airline Pilot" for example.
    Last edited by n4gix; 12-24-2009 at 03:04 PM.
    Bill Leaming
    Gauge Programming - 3d Modeling Military Visualizations
    Flightsim.com Panels & Gauges Forum Moderator
    Flightsim Rig: Intel Core i7-2600K - 8GB DDR3 1333 - EVGA GTX770 4GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    Development Rig1: Intel Core i7-3770k - 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD7770 SLI 1GB - Win7 64bit Professional
    Development Rig2: Intel Core i7-860 - 8GB DDR3 Corsair - GeForce GTS240 1GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    NOTE: Unless explicitly stated in the post, everything written by my hand is MY opinion. I do NOT speak for any company, real or imagined...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    KORD, KMDW
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JerryH View Post
    Hi zingy, welcome to the FlightSim Forums,

    Seeing landing lights from the cockpit is something that is part of the Model file. If your landing lights don't show from the cockpit, there's not much you can do.

    However, if ALL of your aircraft have the same problem it may be due to a graphics setting in the FS9.cfg file. Under the [GRAPHICS] section should be a line item that reads See_Self=1. If that line is missing or is set to "0", change it back to "1". As always, you should back up the FS9.cfg file before you mess around with it.

    Let us know if any of this helped. If not, please be more specific about the addon aircraft and one of us will try to help again.

    Regards,
    JerryH
    Not really works. I see my fs9.cfg shows see_self=1. I see my aircraft still not working w/taxi lights at night. But I press view plane I could see taxi lights on. Weird.. It has to be somewhere setting missing.

    Stuart

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    40 miles north KMSP
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    Rename your FS9.cfg to FS9.cfh. Then when you start FS it will create a new fs9.cfg with default settings. (Be aware that all your assignments, sensitivities, etc., will be lost with this new default.) Now create a night flight and turn on landing lights and then taxi lights and look for the tarmac reflection. It should be there if the fault is in the fs9.cfg settings. You can also set your display settings for reflections and number of lights, etc., if the light reflections have not returned. Use default aircraft for the tests.

    Some models that were created with FS Design Studio version 1 variants for FS2002 or FS2003 do not show illumination of lighting on the tarmac from at least the 2D cockpit view. If they were ported to FS2003 or 2004 without correcting this illumination of landing lights would not show. FSD version 2 allows this feature. In fact, I bought from a well known design house a GA for FS8, the version I started with, and when I complained about the lack of landing light illumination the responding designer was very upset and basically went into a tirade stating he was using the latest design software, etc. I'm sure based on their current popular designs that has now been fixed but they lost a client on that one.

    Anyway, if a rebuilt fs9.cfg does work then you can copy/paste from your renamed one into the proper areas of the new sections regarding peripheral assignments and sensitivities so you won't have to redo those from scratch.
    KMSP - Minnesota: Land of 10,000 Puddles
    Support Team

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2013, 07:17 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-29-2002, 04:06 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-13-2002, 07:05 PM
  4. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 06-24-2002, 10:16 AM
  5. Seeing landing lights in forward cockpit view.
    By nickpppp in forum Aircraft Design Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2002, 04:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •