Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Milton Shupe's Lockeed Lodestar Engine Smoke Issue

  1. Default Milton Shupe's Lockeed Lodestar Engine Smoke Issue

    Hello,
    Milton Shupe's Lockeed Lodestar is a fine craft but the engine smoke
    is way off. Is there a remedy to alighn the smoke with the engines.
    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    16,958

    Default

    Are we talkin' about the engine startup smoke?
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3

    Default

    The engine locations are listed in the General Engine section of the plane's aircraft.cfg file. You can try editing those. Backup first.
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  4. Default

    Hello,
    Yes Mr. Zippy, the issue is with the startup smoke.
    It appears in the front and rear of the plane.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    16,958

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotposer View Post
    Hello,
    Yes Mr. Zippy, the issue is with the startup smoke.
    It appears in the front and rear of the plane.
    I just tried mine in FSX and it seemed OK. Maybe a wind condition? Any chance of a quick screenshot showing the problem?
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  6. Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	148.7 KB 
ID:	210641

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,136

    Default

    pilotposer - I don't have the Lockheed Lodestar loaded, but, check the lights section of the aircraft.cfg, maybe the last entry, sometimes developers stick the engine smoke entry there. If it is there you can "silence it out" by adding a // to the front end of the line entry!

    I have just recently had to do 2 of my most recent downloads, and I found the smoke entry there!

    Rick
    Last edited by Downwind66; 07-12-2019 at 01:58 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,136

    Default

    Yes, I know it sounds strange, and I would be the first to check the "effects" section of the aircraft.cfg file. Then, these 2 recent downloads came along, and I found the smoke in the lights section. So now, I guess I will have to look in both places! That is one nice looking Lockheed Lodestar! I like the blue on white paint and they way they did the striping, very nice indeed!

    Rick

  9. Default

    After downloading the Lodestar again I replaced the [smoke system] section in the air cfg. with the
    newly downloaded [smoke system] section.
    The result is a nice startup smoke and the wayward smoke is gone.
    Works for me.
    Andre Reimers produced the beautiful texture seen in my screen shot.
    Thanks all for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2015, 06:55 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2003, 09:03 PM
  3. Milton Shupe's Dash-7
    By redbird1 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-06-2003, 04:20 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2002, 02:28 PM
  5. To Milton Shupe!
    By sputnik04 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-16-2002, 06:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •