New to FSX and Sims

Howdy y'all! I'm new to new to flight and even newer to sims. I have 10 hours towards my PPL and should have it done by the end of the year. Next year I'll do my IFR, then on to Commercial and CFI. In my down time [and after 13 years without a desktop PC] I decided to throw one together and get into the sim world.

General specs are as follows, as well as periphery:

i5-8600K 3.6GHz - Overclocked @ 4.0GHz

Cooler Master Hyper 212 RGB CPU Cooler

Gigabyte Z390 Gaming SLI ATX Motherboard

Kingston Hyper X Fury 8GB RAM 2x4 (Ordering 16GB soon...)

Western Digital Blue 500GB 3.5" 7200rpm HDD

PNY 240GB 2.5" SSD

MSI - Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition 2GB Video Card (Upgrading to 1070 8GB soon...)

NZXT 500i ATX Mid Tower Case

Corsair Gaming 800W +80 Bronze Power Supply

Microsoft Widows 10 64-bit

Asus VX238H 23" Monitor (Expanding to x3 soon...then VR when the new array-less systems launch.)

I'm looking forward to learning more and maybe talking to some of you soon!

Welcome Tex, to the sometimes wacky world of FSX. Sometimes it's more frustrating than wacky; crazy frustrating when something breaks and you find yourself going "wha...?" Then drop in here and get some sympathy and some support BEFORE you just decide to uninstall and reinstall because that doesn't always work. Actually, stop in daily. I learn something almost every day and this Flight Simulator franchise has been my hobby and passion for a quarter century now. There's literally hundreds of years worth of experience with FSX available at this site - almost at your beck and call - don't fail to take advantage of it!

How about a "30 second" biography: how did you come across FSX; what aspect(s) appeal to you the most; preferred aircraft type; what AC type are you training in? what's your home apt?

Are you flying the disk version or Steam Version? I fly 'em both but the Steam version is still still pretty default while the older disk install is pretty loaded down with scenery and extra AC.