Hard drive problem? (fsx)

I'll preface with I'm NOT a techie.

After having everything tuned the way I wanted it, I didn't use my dedicated fsx/Windows 7 pc for several months. The next time I fired up the pc, it froze several times while loading windows (7). It eventually started up properly, but now my fsx directory listing my various flight set-ups no longer includes anything other than the basic "Bruce" ones included in the fsx/acceleration package. I have located the other set-ups in my c: directory, but they don't appear in the fsx "load" page.

My primary question is: Given the difficulty loading windows, is that a sign that my hard drive is starting to fail? If yes, I'll replace and likely do a clean install of fsx and orbx.

If not, I'm tempted to reinstall windows on my existing pc and reconstruct the fsx, orbx and saitek gear, in part because I currently have everything installed on a relatively small (full) "c" drive, with a 10x larger "d" drive sitting empty. I suspect I'm not technically savvy enough to go-in and fiddle with and repair the various file links that may now be corrupted in my current set-up.

Any advice?

Brian

Do you mean "load saved flight"? Or do you mean "missions"?

And what is the matter with orbx?

Same with saitek gear. Simply connecting should do it, right. Or did it not? And if not, did you try to re-calibrate yet? Successful?

How full is that c drive? How full is the drive fsx is on?

You want about 20% free at least on all drives.

The problem at startup sounds like windows did a 'system restore'. Used a restore point, because it couldn't start. And it reset the settings to the date of the restore point, when the computer did work.

That resets some windows settings. It also can return files like scenery.cfg (your fsx scenery library list, activated scenery's) fsx.cfg file (the fsx settings), and exe.xml and dll.xml (listing of addon programs and dll's that should be started together with fsx).