P3D Complete System Build

QQQ

Hello all!

This is my first post, though I have been a long term lurker. I finally decided to join and seek advice from you knowledgable folk as I begin my flight sim adventure in earnest.

I am a flight student doing virtually all of my PPL hours in the flight school’s Cessna 172, but I plan on purchasing a used Beechcraft 36 shortly after completing my PPL and complex/hi-perf certs. I also plan on immediately moving on to my instrument rating so I am hoping that by building a reasonably good simulator in my home I can build proficiency more rapidly as well as practice approaches/landings, etc on the various airports I will be flying into once my license is acquired. I also am keen on getting practice with cockpit workflows incorporating ForeFlight as well as the various avionics I may encounter in my actual flights. In short, I wish to use this as a true simulator with my own personal entertainment a secondary concern.

Budget is not much of an issue, except when it is. Wife Acceptance Factor is an issue however, which is why I’m not doing the full blown home simulator (e.g., OntheGLideslope.net.) The complete immersion that his simulator provides is really attractive, but I do not have the space to build such a simulator. I would like to be prepared for VR flying once it is ready for prime time.

I am not interested in gaming, though my 6 kids will likely use the rig sans flight controls for their own entertainment purposes, nor am I likely to ever fire up an aircraft on the simulator which I am unlikely to fly in the Real World (RW). With that in mind, here is my plan:

Already Purchased, not yet built

Computer

• Intel Core i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz
  • GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming G1 Motherboard
  • GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1080 G1 Gaming GV-N1080G1 GAMING-8GD Video Card
  • Noctua NH-D15 SSO2 D-Type Premium CPU Cooler
  • G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3400