ATC Mishap???

Minas Man

:confused: Hello, everyone. Here is a quick question. Has this ever happened to any of you? I was flying from Denver Intl to Salt Lake City (KSLC) this morning and using the default Air Traffic Control. I've been simming for many years now but have just decided to add "realism" to my flights by utilizing ATC.

Anyway, I was being vectored to Rwy 36L, and was doing what I thought was a good job (following all the directions, etc). Well I turned to final, put down the gear, and was feeling pretty good about myself. ;)

Suddenly, out of nowhere, a 737 came zooming down from overhead and got right in front of me. He landed ahead of me and air traffic control instructed me to land behind him. After a few moments I hit the runway, and low and behold, the Boeing was still on the runway, dead in front of me :confused:

ATC instructed me to "go-around", which pissed me off!!!!:mad: I mean, I was AHEAD of this clown, and he literally cut me off.

I hit the pause button to avoid slamming into his "6 oclock", and exited the game in disgust:(

My question is 2 fold: (a) Has this happened to any of you and what did you do about it?

(b) Is this proper ATC procedure and should I have just "gone around" and forgot about it?

Important note: I've only done a handful of missed approaches and they were nothing to brag about:mad: Yeah, I know I should practice them.

Thanks for listening

ATC instructed me to "go-around", which pissed me off!!!!:mad:

Thanks for listening

Better than being whizzed on!;) Yes, it has happened way more than just once. I would advise looking for a program that will help keep AI aircraft off of your tail and also passing you on final to land in front of you. I'll take a look for something that is FS2004 compatible. I don't think AISmooth is.

OK, wrong on that! AISmooth is available for FS2004.

http://www.flightsimworld.com/downloads/viewfile/557.html

I suppose you are trying to avoid something like this at KLAX!