Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Upgrading Hardware

  1. #1

    Default Upgrading Hardware

    I was considering purchasing new hardware for MS2020 but have found that all the bugs, lack of multiple monitors, no Cessna 172 steam gage plane, trim issues, and other negatives has made me decide to wait a year or two before trying MS2020 again. I had great advice for new hardware from the MS2020 Forum but now that I’m going back to FSX I’m wondering if purchasing new and more expensive hardware will result in a significantly better FSX experience. Any suggestions about what new hardware I should buy? Would a SAMSUNG 49-inch Odyssey G9 Gaming Monitor be problematic for FSX? I would add that to two smaller monitors for instruments and views. I currently have 58Mbps internet speed. Steam FSX. Thank you for your advice.
    i7-7700k @ 4.2 Ghz, 16 GB DDR4/3000,2280 SSD M.2,Genome II Case,Nvidia GTX 1080 rear exhaust, Dell 32" Curved Gaming Monitor & 24" HP side monitor. Redbird Alloy yoke, pedals, and throttle. A single Saitek Instrument Panel and Cessna trim wheel. Windows 10 64 bit. 58 measured Mbps.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    In Nel's backyard.
    Posts
    266

    Default

    That was precisely my plan as well and decided to upgrade for MSFS 2020. I erred on the side of caution and decided to upgrade before I purchased 2020 knowing that my new specs would be a definite plus improvement than what I had, for FSX. After reading the MS2020 forum and all the posts of malfunctions, etc., I decided to forego my purchase of the sim and stay with FSX.

    The result has been a sim that runs nearly flawlessly. You have to be aware of the 4GB memory limit of FSX but that can be worked around. I do still get an occasional texture "square box" loading hiccup but it is very rare. Probably should have gone higher with my video card selection. You can see my specs below. Overall, FSX is running extremely well. I still have not closed the door on MS2020 but I will wait until it matures.
    HP Omen Obelisk, i7 9700K 3.6 Base to 4.9 Turbo Boost, Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 Super 8GB, 32GB HyperX 2666 DDR4 RAM. 1TB 7200 SATA HD, 1TB Western Digital M.2 NvME SSD, 750W PS. Let's fly!

  3. #3

    Default

    Im intrigued! Whats the workaround for the 4gb memory limit??
    i5 4690 (350mhz) with Arctic Cooler, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, ASUS Rock H97 performance mobo, Gainward Windforce GTX 960 OC 2GB, Windows10 64bit, 256GB and 500GB Crucial SSDs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    In Nel's backyard.
    Posts
    266

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pomak249 View Post
    Im intrigued! What's the workaround for the 4gb memory limit??
    I simply limit the number of active aircraft entry's in my Airplanes folder (currently just have 2 instead of the 36 I previously had) and the same with my Addon scenery folders, outside of basic folders which are needed to run the sim. I have a total of 241 Addon scenery folders of which 84 are inactive. This is enough for FSX that I have eliminated all OOM incidents. To accomplish this, I have a complete backup of FSX on another HD and I select what aircraft and airports I desire to fly, grab them from the backup HD and transfer them to the respective folders on my SSD where FSX is located. When the flight is completed, I delete/inactivate those entry's I just used and start over with a new aircraft and airports selection. It is a bit of work, but since implementing this process, no OOM's at all.
    HP Omen Obelisk, i7 9700K 3.6 Base to 4.9 Turbo Boost, Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 Super 8GB, 32GB HyperX 2666 DDR4 RAM. 1TB 7200 SATA HD, 1TB Western Digital M.2 NvME SSD, 750W PS. Let's fly!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,004

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miatamariner View Post
    I simply limit the number of active aircraft entry's in my Airplanes folder (...) and the same with my Addon scenery folders...
    I agree on the latter (I use SceneryConfigEditor for that purpose), but yr statement on the active aircraft entries is new to me.
    For sure, it'll save you some time on the Aircraft Selection Screen popping up, but IMO it has no influence on OOM errors.

    Once an aircraft is loaded into memory, the Airplanes folder isn't accessed anymore (I'm talking about user flyable aircraft, not AI Traffic).

    Wim

  6. #6

    Default

    Not sure this is a workaround as such the 4GB limit is what it is? It certainly reduces load times for the sim, I have no addon scenery at all since an enforced reinstall and FSX loads in seconds now. Most OOMs are due to overcranking the sim settings i believe? I may be wrong tho!!
    i5 4690 (350mhz) with Arctic Cooler, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, ASUS Rock H97 performance mobo, Gainward Windforce GTX 960 OC 2GB, Windows10 64bit, 256GB and 500GB Crucial SSDs

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,617

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pomak249 View Post
    Not sure this is a workaround as such the 4GB limit is what it is? It certainly reduces load times for the sim, I have no addon scenery at all since an enforced reinstall and FSX loads in seconds now. Most OOMs are due to overcranking the sim settings i believe? I may be wrong tho!!
    Photoreal scenery and other add-ons can significantly increase the risk of OOMs. PMDG has a good guide to follow.

    https://support.precisionmanuals.com...om-errors.aspx

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrading Hardware
    By AndreasRh in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-03-2013, 07:05 AM
  2. Upgrading Hardware for FS9 PLEASE HELP!!
    By sidsata in forum FS2004
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 01:52 AM
  3. How to fix the FS2002 multiplayer after upgrading DirectX
    By rabbitcancer in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-19-2003, 10:57 AM
  4. Upgrading my computer - What do you think?
    By Aerolee in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-18-2002, 09:41 PM
  5. Upgrading memory
    By mmm6262 in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2002, 07:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •