Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FSX Newbie - need some assistane

  1. #1

    Default FSX Newbie - need some assistane

    Hi,

    Running FSX with SP1 no frills, just straight out of the box DVDs. First time flying this new (old) sim

    As regularly reported, there are the usual crashes. Full reports below if anyone can assist...


    Running sim in 3D mode, access menu via ALT button then crashes:

    Faulting application name: fsx.exe, version: 10.0.61355.0, time stamp: 0x4643ee0a
    Faulting module name: atiumdag.dll, version: 9.14.10.984, time stamp: 0x5221203b
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x00024c81
    Faulting process ID: 0x1548
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d7a2f736c12820
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\fsx.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\atiumdag.dll
    Report ID: cb57b730-0eea-11ec-82db-600292104e97
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:

    Selecting default A321 then click Fly Now button crash:

    Faulting application name: fsx.exe, version: 10.0.61355.0, time stamp: 0x4643ee0a
    Faulting module name: atiumdag.dll, version: 9.14.10.984, time stamp: 0x5221203b
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x00024c81
    Faulting process ID: 0x7b0
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d7a2f7f7dffee1
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\fsx.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\atiumdag.dll
    Report ID: 5041c166-0eeb-11ec-82db-600292104e97
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:

    Select default Cessna 172SP Skyhawk G1000 then click Fly Now button crash:

    Faulting application name: fsx.exe, version: 10.0.61355.0, time stamp: 0x4643ee0a
    Faulting module name: atiumdag.dll, version: 9.14.10.984, time stamp: 0x5221203b
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x00024c81
    Faulting process ID: 0x908
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d7a2f843d20c73
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\fsx.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\atiumdag.dll
    Report ID: a6607c6a-0eeb-11ec-82db-600292104e97
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:


    Install of Vista 32bit UIAutomationCore.dll has prevented crash on exit/end of flight only when switching to 2D ALT-Enter mode; this method applied is also successful for accessing in-flight menus.

    Sys specs:

    Toshiba Satellite C55D-A-16H

    Operating System
    Windows 8.1 64-bit
    CPU
    AMD A6-5200 61 °C
    Kabini 28nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-10-24)
    Motherboard
    AMD PT10AN (Socket FT1) 60 °C
    Graphics
    Generic PnP Monitor ([email protected])
    512MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 8400 (Toshiba) 61 °C
    Storage
    931GB TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 (SATA) 33 °C
    Optical Drives
    TSSTcorp CDDVDW SU-208FB
    Audio
    IDT High Definition Audio CODEC


    AMD A6-5200
    Cores 4
    Threads 4
    Name AMD A6-5200
    Code Name Kabini
    Package Socket FT3 (BGA769)
    Technology 28nm
    Specification AMD A6-5200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
    Family F
    Extended Family 16
    Model 0
    Extended Model 0
    Stepping 1
    Revision KB-A1
    Instructions MMX (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, AMD 64, NX, VMX, AES, AVX
    Virtualization Supported, Disabled
    Hyperthreading Not supported
    Bus Speed 99.8 MHz
    Stock Core Speed 2000 MHz
    Stock Bus Speed 100 MHz


    More display info:
    Screen size 1366x768 but was set to lower res.

    B738 default also crashes like default A321....

    Name AMD Radeon HD 8400
    PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9830&SUBSYS_FA331179&REV_00\3&2411E6FE&1&08
    Adapter Type AMD Radeon HD 8400 (0x9830), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Adapter Description AMD Radeon HD 8400
    Adapter RAM 512.00 MB (536,870,912 bytes)
    Installed Drivers aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
    Driver Version 13.152.0.0
    INF File oem1.inf (ati2mtag_Kabini_Mobile section)
    Colour Planes Not Available
    Colour Table Entries 4294967296
    Resolution 1366 x 768 x 60 hertz
    Bits/Pixel 32
    Memory Address 0xE0000000-0xF7FFFFFF
    Memory Address 0xF0000000-0xF07FFFFF
    I/O Port 0x00003000-0x000030FF
    Memory Address 0xF0A00000-0xF0A3FFFF
    IRQ Channel IRQ 4294967289
    Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6340, 604.00 KB (618,496 bytes), 05/09/2013 11:12)

    B738 can be aircraft-switched in the simulator and flown successfully. Landing position can be saved, but a reload fails due to loading of aircraft model.

    Many thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,534

    Default

    Be sure to install SP2 to go along with SP1!
    https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...mdag-dll-error
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi,

    I saw the accelerator pack. you can get them on Ebay these days.

    Just downloaded amd-catalyst-omega-14.12-with-dotnet45-win8.1-64bit in meantime and will see how that works out. If not I'll come back and whinge some more LOL!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peugeot309style View Post
    Hi,

    I saw the accelerator pack. you can get them on Ebay these days.

    Just downloaded amd-catalyst-omega-14.12-with-dotnet45-win8.1-64bit in meantime and will see how that works out. If not I'll come back and whinge some more LOL!

    FSX was working great until i bought a acceleration pack,

    if only i read the part of changing PartMgr before i started fumbling and moving files not knowing what i was doing lol,

    i deleted acceleration pack and fsx and just reinstalled FSX ,

    now i cant get the base game to accept the product key , and the key was working along with fsx before i installed and unstalled lol

    i did speak to microsoft but couldnt or woudnt help ,

    i just dont understand how it accepted product key in activasion couple of months ago but now wont accept it ,

    i give up ,

  5. #5

    Default

    Senna the acceleration pack is a PITA and best avoided imo! There are plenty of fixes for your activation problem just do a search here
    i5 4690 (350mhz) with Arctic Cooler, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, ASUS Rock H97 performance mobo, Gainward Windforce GTX 960 OC 2GB, Windows10 64bit, 256mb Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,450

    Default

    Microsoft cannot and will not help because support for FSX ended long ago, and none of their techs know FSX nowadays.

    A way around your issues would be to buy FSX:SE, also known as FSX Steam, which sells cheaply at Steam sales and also comes with Acceleration built-in.

    Jorgen

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,324

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    Microsoft cannot and will not help because support for FSX ended long ago, and none of their techs know FSX nowadays.

    A way around your issues would be to buy FSX:SE, also known as FSX Steam, which sells cheaply at Steam sales and also comes with Acceleration built-in.

    Jorgen
    Good point Jorgen! I haven't needed to do that but it makes sense.

    Michael
    Being an old chopper guy I usually fly low and slow.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Winchester, KY
    Posts
    70

    Default

    I posted on an older thread recently, but will start a new thread in a few moments: a step by step approach to installing/ reinstalling FSX. It is lengthy and troublesome, but works every time for me now. Boxed addition only. Will put under FSX forum.
    Dan

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dlfrenchmd View Post
    I posted on an older thread recently, but will start a new thread in a few moments: a step by step approach to installing/ reinstalling FSX. It is lengthy and troublesome, but works every time for me now. Boxed addition only. Will put under FSX forum.
    Dan
    Recently had to reinstall due to a bit of a mess up my end. Don't know if this is of any use to anyone, but I like many others have the addon scenery issue and blank scenery library installed not listing any added files.

    I accidentally uninstalled Acceleration, which I assume also took off SP2?

    The thing is, after that, the add on scenery thing worked 100% perfect. I was able to locate my airport folder, pointed to the scenery file, and it was added very easily without any issues.

    Now FSX is back up and running with Acceleration/SP2, the add on problem has returned.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,324

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dlfrenchmd View Post
    I posted on an older thread recently, but will start a new thread in a few moments: a step by step approach to installing/ reinstalling FSX. It is lengthy and troublesome, but works every time for me now. Boxed addition only. Will put under FSX forum.
    Dan
    Thanks Dan!

    I should have guessed a Ky boy would end figuring this out!

    We look forward to your upcoming post!!

    Michael

    PS: By saying FSX forum I'm assuming you mean this one. If not, please advise which forward it will be on so people will know where to look.
    Last edited by Rupert; 09-17-2021 at 01:18 PM.
    Being an old chopper guy I usually fly low and slow.

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie but not newbie
    By SpencerM in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2016, 06:24 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-2014, 12:02 AM
  3. Flying newbie and SIM newbie
    By michaellucas in forum Newcomer Services
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-10-2013, 12:35 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 06:59 PM
  5. Hi All Newbie here need some Suggestions
    By MikeVG in forum Newcomer Services
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 04:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •