Best ways / tips for a trouble and stress free installation?

Hi Everyone

More time on my hands now plus the launch of the incredible looking new MSFS means that after 15 years or so I'm able to, and have decided to, return to a passion that I've had all my life and now finally have more time to indulge, flight sims.

My new PC arrives tomorrow (Intel I7 - 10700k 5.1 GHZ, RTX 2080 Super, 32GB DDR RAM) and as I live in a rural area unfortunately I only have 20MBS 4G internet connection (and I'm no windows expert, current/last one was Windows XP !).

I'm planning to buy and install MSFS tomorrow (from MS store) once I've set the new computer up and so - having read a lot of horror stories on forums - was wondering whether anyone has any good advice or tips on the best way to try and ensure a trouble / stress free installation, or any material I can referencer to help/guide me and whether there's any rookie mistakes I should avoid ?

Thanks in advance for any help ! :-)

Paul

My advice is to keep your Windows 10 complete and original (don't go deleting any supposed "bloatware" apps), update it using Settings/Update & Security AND Microsoft Store (click the 3 dots in the top right corner and select Downloads and updates) until it won't update any more. THEN install MSFS to it's default location, go to Content Manager before you do anything else and download any further updates in the list there.

Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."

Xbox Series X, Asus Prime H510M-K, Intel Core i5-11400F 4.40GHz, 16Gb DDR4 3200, 2TB WD Black NVME SSD, 1TB Samsung SATA SSD

NVidia RTX3060 Ti 8Gb, Logitech Flight Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Windows 11 Home x64