Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: FSX crazy scenery

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lydney, Glos, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default FSX crazy scenery

    I'm running an almost new version of FSX SE with very few scenery addons, but especially none on the West Coast of the USA.

    From around 50 miles north of Los Angeles the Pacific Ocean suddenly turns into land, stretching out in a direct east-west line and away over the horizon! Various airports don't exist in the airports list either, LAX for a start! Also the entire state of Nevada isn't in there either.

    It's like an entire chunk of the scenery database has vanished.

    Any ideas how I can repair this please?

    Hopefully there is a screenie of the problem below.

    Regards
    Kit
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	California scenery error-800.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	35.6 KB 
ID:	213001  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,336

    Default

    To verify your game files please do the following:

    1. Load the Steam platform and log into your account
    2. Click the Library tab in the menu at the top of the screen
    3. Click the List View from the view options on the top right of the screen
    4. Right click on Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition to bring up a popup menu
    5. Click on Properties from the popup menu to bring up another popup box
    6. Click on Local files from the popup box menu
    7. Click on Verify integrity of game cache from the Local file options
    8. Wait for the progress bar to finish verifying your files. Additional files may download
    9. Restart Steam
    10. Restart Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3

    Default

    Sure, I know... buy some scenery for north of Los Angeles!

    (Gee, now why would I say that?)

    Happy Halloween!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lydney, Glos, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    No joy I'm afraid.

    I followed the steps you posted, for which much thanks, and it went OK apart from the fact that there aren't any 'View options' top right with your step 3, but it didn't matter as FSX SE is the only Steam software I have.

    It said it had noted 53 files that needed updating and when I re-started FSX SE it went through quite a process of downloading and installing files and then made a new scenery list.

    Sadly Los Angeles and San Diego etc. still don't exist and neither does Nevada, and the land spreads way out to the west across the Pacific. :-(

    During the startup FSX SE said there was a Invalid Remote Scenery path error in scenery area 21 which I don't recall seeing before, but area 21 on my system is some VFR photo scenery of the UK.

    Regards
    Kit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,726

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kitspackman View Post
    During the startup FSX SE said there was a Invalid Remote Scenery path error in scenery area 21 which I don't recall seeing before, but area 21 on my system is some VFR photo scenery of the UK.
    Sometimes a corrupt scenery installation can affect the default scenery thousands of miles away.
    Try uninstalling the VFR scenery and check the LA area again. If it hasn't re-appeared, run the Steam Verify process again. Once you have the missing regions back, try re-installing the VFR scenery as Administrator.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.2GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 1TB & 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Asus K272HL 27" Monitor, Windows 10 Pro x64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lydney, Glos, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Still no joy I'm afraid.

    I've removed every scenery addon and the Pacific is still a large land area from the same point as before.

    It looks to me like a complete re-install is the only answer, but how do I do that with the SE version?

    Regards
    Kit

  7. Default

    This is just one out of many reasons I refuse to use Steam. Not for a Sim, not for a FPS. Nothing. I bought FSX Deluxe on eBay and glad I did.

    At first glance I thought this was a mesh issue. But it looks like you have some corrupt scenery files thanks to Steam. If Steam's so-called repair function doesn't work, then it does indeed look like you'll have to reinstall. Since I don't use Stream I'm not sure, but I imagine you should be able to just uninstall it just like any other program.
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  8. #8

    Default

    Bring up the Library view in Steam, right click on FSX, left click on "Manage", left click on "Uninstall". When that is finished left click on FSX and then on "Install".



    Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.6 GHz; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB GDDR5X; ASRock Z270 K6 Gaming MB, 16GB DDR4-3000 RAM; 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD; Windows 10 Pro 64-bit; 34" 21:9 curved 4K Monitor

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lydney, Glos, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Nope, it's still just the same!

    But it's not surprising as that process doesn't actually delete the major files from my PC, the ones with the problems are still there.

    I'm going to go through the whole rigmarole again and delete the whole folder and drive and set it up again.

  10. #10

    Default

    FSX (and also FSX-SE in suppose) keeps a copy of a "virgin" scenery.cfg in the main FSX program folder.

    I would copy/paste this file into C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX (or whatever it's called in Steam) and see what gives. When doing this, you will need to add yr addons to the Scenery Library again, but I think it's less drastic than a complete reinstall.

    Wim

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-31-2013, 01:16 PM
  2. fsx startup is crazy
    By ninlves in forum FSX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-30-2013, 03:04 PM
  3. fsx going crazy
    By fsxmaster in forum FSX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2011, 10:42 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-26-2010, 12:02 AM
  5. Was it MSFS5? Crazy scenery
    By chaos0815 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-17-2003, 06:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •