747 Flap Settings During Climb After Takeoff

SouthportGuy

Google was not my friend on this so I'm asking what flap settings to apply during climb after takeoff. Do the kneeboard limits apply no matter if its approach or departure?
Home Airport - Southport Airport, Southport, Manitoba, Canada| FSX/Acceleration | MSI GT70 Laptop | Windows 8.1 -64bit | Intel ® Core i7-3630 QM | CPU@ 2.4GHZ (cores can dynamically overclock to up to 3.2 GHz (920XM)) | Ram 12GB | NVIDIA® GeForce GTX 670M discrete graphics card (with GDDR5 3GB VRAM)

Allow me to preface this by saying...I'm not an engineer by any stretch, nor do I have a manual...

From Airliners.net:

British Airways and Quantas SOP, 747-400 take off flaps set at 20

...Not sure if thats 20 cables....or 20 feet...thats an awful lot of flaps, 20 feet worth...:p:p

Weight, runway length, temperature, pressure altitude all effect flap settings. I use the FMC performance settings. :)

That's the best way. That will give you the flap guides on the speed tape,

assuming a good plane. Most retract well ahead of the placard speed limits,

and usually the same on the descent in reverse. Another plus is it will give you

your Vref for a selected landing flaps setting.

I'm using the default 747 with partial FMC so it won't give me suggested flap settings.

What I do:

Set flaps for 15

Take off - speed gets to 240 knots

Since my flap limit chart says I can have flaps at 10 at 240 knots, I keep flaps at 10 until I reach 10000 feet.

Once I'm over 10000 feet I reduce flaps all the way to 0 and increase speed to 300 knots.

Those are my steps so far. I was just wondering what the guideline is.

Home Airport - Southport Airport, Southport, Manitoba, Canada| FSX/Acceleration | MSI GT70 Laptop | Windows 8.1 -64bit | Intel ® Core i7-3630 QM | CPU@ 2.4GHZ (cores can dynamically overclock to up to 3.2 GHz (920XM)) | Ram 12GB | NVIDIA® GeForce GTX 670M discrete graphics card (with GDDR5 3GB VRAM)