Want To Upgrade FS2004 Scenery

vaseycr

Have been a FS simmer for more years than I care to admit. Currently using FS2004 after a brief foray into FSX & want to improve on the default scenery. Most of my flying is done at 5000 ft. or less. I expect that I will have to invest in pay ware. What product will give me the best results? I presume I will have to purchase many packages to get coverage of a single continent. Suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thank you

CRV

Presume you have Ultimate Terrain? That should be the first thing, immediately after FS9. It gets the water in the right place and shape and in Canada that is a high priority. Outside of Canada and the US I have no personal experience of it but I would imagine it is a big improvement anywhere in the world.

Hello Clare. I hope you are doing well.

The other two replies are correct... Ultimate Terrain is definitely needed, as is a good (payware) terrain mesh product.

FSGlobal is a great start, but (I) personally have always preferred FSGenesis for my terrain mesh. FSGlobal will be much more affordable though these days, as the 'discounted memberships' to FSGenesis no longer exist. Today the cost to obtain ALL of the FSG meshes would be extremely expensive. Ouch $$$ Get FSGlobal.

The best freeware weather software is definitely FSrealWX. It's lightning fast, simple and ultra realistic using 'live' METAR information directly from the web. You must register (free) to download products. Download FSrealWX Pro. Pay NO attention to any messages stating it is a trial item. FSrealWX will ALWAYS be a free product. That message was placed within the software to make the encoded software work properly. The software is truly 100% FREE!!!

http://www.fsrealwx.net

With your weather, you will want to get some cloud textures. The best textures for FS9 and FSX are from REX. However, that is the ONLY part of the REX system that I employ. As stated above, I use the FSrealWX for my live weather data.