MSFS2020 Failure to start

I have been using Microsoft Flight Simulator since FS4 in the late 1980s and have had every edition.   Up until MSFS2020 I was able to manipulate the contents of the software, manually adding or removing components.
I have been using MSFS2020 for over 2 years now, buying a new computer to run the programme.  I tried the programme using a one month trial on X-Box and subsequently purchased it.   The download and installation was straightforward.   It has run flawlessly during this time, updating regularly without any problems until this week.
I mainly fly the FBW A320 on short haul trips around the UK.   
I had not used the software for approx 3 weeks and when I came to start it the loading stopped at approx 75% along the progress bar and reverted to the X-Box screen.   I have tried numerous times to start it in the past few days.   Each time it gives me the option to start in SAFE MODE or NORMAL MODE, neither of which work.
I am looking for some advice on what to try next.   For info I am 76 years old, fairly computer literate but may need step by step guidance

TerryB

Asus ROG STRIX B550, Ryzen 5800X, Gigabyte 3080 10GB, 16GB 3600DDR4, 2 x 500GB SSDs, 3TB HDD, Corsair 4000X case, 27" HP monitor

Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."

Xbox Series X, Asus Prime H510M-K, Intel Core i5-11400F 4.40GHz, 16Gb DDR4 3200, 2TB WD Black NVME SSD, 1TB Samsung SATA SSD

NVidia RTX3060 Ti 8Gb, Logitech Flight Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Windows 11 Home x64

3 hours ago, tiger1962 said:

Thanks for the link.  I will check it out

TerryB

Asus ROG STRIX B550, Ryzen 5800X, Gigabyte 3080 10GB, 16GB 3600DDR4, 2 x 500GB SSDs, 3TB HDD, Corsair 4000X case, 27" HP monitor