Back again, 😉 with a few more questions and observations. I am new to MSFS2020 although a long time flight simmer, most recently FS9 for 19 years.

How do you folk manage / adapt to the virtual cockpit? I find it almost always too dark and legends too small if combined with a decent forward view. I have set up various cameras invoked by the ALT 1, ALT 2 and so on. Particularly on final, are the flaps set correctly? Which view shows the flap indicator? I try and remember, then is the undercarriage down? Which view showed the three greens? By the time I get the view showing what I need I am 200' above the Rwy and often travelling at an inappropriate speed. Never mind if the mixture is still leaned for 8000' just handle the flare. :-0

i.e.:

Bresso2.thumb.jpg.323ca0715875c2a1f9b7e0ebcbfcefe5.jpg

Or with time do the cockpit camera views become second nature? (or the pilots among you might say I have not planned my approach with enough care). Often though small changes of speed are required to stay on the correct glide path, difficult to do when you can't see the throttle to tell how much input you are giving using the F3 and F2 keys. Or do most of you use the dicky seat 20' behind the rudder and the limited instruments available in that view?

I also got a surprise when searching for a camera view (ALT 4 was the correct one) but concentrating more on the screen (yep, on short final again) and pressed ALT and F4 by mistake and was zapped out of the simulator back to the desktop, not so much as a “By Your Leave” or even an “Are you sure you want to quit?” message.

Does MSFS2020 have a speed up function? In FS9 (especially when flying heavy metal on long haul) once in a steady climb go to 4x speed and when in the cruise go to 16x.

Is the last flight you do saved on exit automatically and retrieved by an equivalent of the “Previous flight” option in FS9?