Running slow

farrout

Everything was going great, until I started playing with adding new scenery and aircraft.

Now, it takes over 5 minutes to load a free flight, and my CPU is running at 100% most of the time.

Here are some details.

svchost.exe is killing my machine.

I downloaded a cleaner and ran it.

Re installed FSX:SE

svchost.exe still running

Processor is AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5800+ 3.00 Ghz

RAM 8GB

Hard drive 1TB

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Dennis

100% CPU running FSX is normal. Slow loading after adding scenery and aircraft is not that unusual. "Add-ons" are always at the user's risk. If you remove them and get the performance back you had before, then you learned something.

If you gave us a lot more information, you will get more specific help.

-Pv-

2 carrot salad, 10.41 liter bucket, electric doorbell, 17 inch fan, 12X14, 85 Dbm

I will throw my two cents in here. Expand the svchost in question (it should be the one showing the high CPU usage - typically greater than 25%) using Task Manager and check its Properties. See if one of the highlighted items is "wuauserv". If it's one of the services running then Windows Update is doing its thing. Give it time to complete its task. Sometimes this may take a very long time (several hours) as this specific service has known issues. This has been my experience running Windows 7 - Professional. Microsoft pushes out their "standard" Windows updates every second Tuesday of the month. Jim
I am a King Air fan. [sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

The obvious things:

What version of FSX (Boxed, P3D, SE)

What SPECIFIC aircraft and scenery you installed.

Your graphic option settings in the sim.

Note: Your 3.0 GHz CPU is typically considered marginal for FSX. You cannot run high detailed aircraft, scenery at high graphic settings at that processor speed.