win 10 fsx addin issues

krosen

fsx is in the programs (86) file

Then I think it's being protected from changes by UAC. That's why you can't add new stuff.

Or it's a case of not having the proper permissions setup. Can you run FSX as Administrator?

Still thinking about a new flightsim only computer!  ✈️

Then I think it's being protected from changes by UAC. That's why you can't add new stuff.

Or it's a case of not having the proper permissions setup. Can you run FSX as Administrator?

i am an administrator on the computer. don't have problems with other programs that require administrator access. i appreciate your trying to solve my problem.

Because those other programs don't try to edit any files like FSX and add ons do.

The easiest thing to do is uninstall FSX and re-install it outside of the default install path, problem solved.

http://www.air-source.us/images/sigs/000219_195_jimskorna.png

NO!!!!!

Do NOT reinstall!!!

Just drop your UAC settings right down.

Right click the desktop icon for FSX & "Run as Administrator" (even though you are admin of the PC)

This has worked for all 3x of my FS9's, my FSX & my P3D. (as well as over 20x PC's at our VA. Never a problem).

Robin

Cape Town, South Africa

You can either install into a folder outside C:Program Files(x86) - the best solution - or you can relax the UAC settings. To do that easily, get a free utility called TweakUAC.

A more permanent solution to running FSX as Administrator is to right-click on the desktop icon, then select Properties. Find the Compatibility tab, check the box "Run as Administrator", click Apply and then OK.

Jorgen

I don't use UAC, but I would still move FSX to it's own folder. Don't even need to

reinstall.. Just rename the FSX folder to FSX, and drag or copy it to the root folder of

whatever drive you want it on. I assume likely the same as it's on now..

It will rewrite the scenery index when started, and then be normal from there on..