Black Widow Joystick

chris18p

Hi, have just installed XP10 as an extra challenge to my existing FSX during the winter months!!!

With FSX I am still a novice having dipped in and out over the years but have bought the Microsoft Flight Simulator X For Pilots: Real World Training book having read reviews saying it's very good to learn about things properly with FSX and I want to be more proficient and get more enjoyment. Also because I am using Windows 7 on a "new" PC bought just for flying and OpenRails I was getting the crashes on FSX and bought XP before finding out about the UIAutomationCore.dll fix which seems to have made things better so far.

The book uses the Piper J-3-Cub as it's a very basic aircraft with few controls (ideal for a novice) in it's initial lessons which is OK for FSX but that doesn't exist on XP10 by default so have downloaded and installed an add-on Piper J 3 Cub v9 for XP so I have it on both system so can use the book on both too.

On FSX my Black Widow joystick works quite well but I am having real problems with XP. If I try to take off with the Piper even without touching the rudder controls it tends to veer left and when I pull back on the stick it will leave the ground but again has a tendency to veer to the left and doesn't get much height so eventually crashes. If I try and use the rudder the wings will dip and scrape on the ground, I just can't get it to go straight.

It's strange that even with full power and the joystick right back the aircraft doesn't climb steadily as with FSX and the controls don't seem to have much affect. I am still playing about with the controls setting for XP but getting nowhere fast.

I realise that XP is a more demanding simulator but I need to get the joystick right to have any chance of mastering it. My intention is to run FSX and XP in parallel using the book as my guide.