This site was inaccessible for the last three days. Anyone else had this problem?

old_wombat

I have been accessing this site for many many years with no problems other than this one. In fact I have always been greastly impressed with the performance of the server where Flightsim is based.

But three days ago, a problem started. I could not get in at all. Chrome reported timeouts and resets. Now until I retired I had been a computer systems and networking engineer for nearly three decades, so I ran what limited diagnostics Windows provides:

"ping" got here and returned in the usual time.

"tracert" got here and returned in less than 20 hops in the usual time.

Both of Telstra's DNS servers were active and responsive. This is sadly not that common, and the source of many network issues in Oz. So obviously this was not a problem in this issue.

During this time, I was able to access servers all over the world - Facebook, CNN, ABC (Oz), BBC, MSN, many others - with no issues whatsoever. Email was also working with no problems.

I have of course made no changes to anything hardware or software wise on my home network installation.

"telnet xx.xx.xx.xx 80" (where xx.xx.xx.xx is flightsim's IP) timed out. Other than the symptom itself, this was the only indication of a problem.

This problem had also occurred a few weeks ago, but only for the one day.

My wife also shares this internet connection, and she visits a far wider range of sites than I do, and reports no issues during that time.

Now (obviously) everything is working again.

Has anyone else ever seen such issues?

Steve from Murwilllumbah.

I've dropped by every day with no problems. Could be an issue with your ISP.

You can check with sites such as websitedown or notopening.com to see if the site is functional. (a search for "is xxx down", xxx=site name, will get a list of such sites)

Byt a process of elimination ...