Help with VFR Navigation

GridNorth

I can take off, land and navigate with GPS but my understanding is that GPS is not allowed within VFR rules? I have been trying to navigate with a map on my lap and timings between Waypoints but I am finding it quite difficult which is odd because I'm a mountaineer with professional qualifications for navigation. What sort of things do good pilots use for waypoint markers especially inland over open countryside. Navigation South West England is proving very difficult once I leave the coastline behind me. I'm using Orbx EU England scenery and I sometimes find Waypoints that I've noted do not appear. I'm also using Plan G for planning flights.

I also have a query with the mixture settings in a Cesna 172 when cruising. No matter where I set it to FSX keeps telling me that the engine is losing power because it is not leaned correctly.

Alan

Alan

The GPS can be used at anytime and that includes VFR or IFR.

I use it regularly in a freeware panel that I created for the F-111.

In the Right hand MFD I created and added a "Mission Adaptive Flight planner"

it has 2 pages that enable you to input Airport ICAOs or Lattitude/Longitude in 3 different text formats.

It is used in conjunction with a Radar that shows ICAOs ,Flight plan lines and waypoint

index numbers, the radar has as a page a scrollable constantly updated Flight plan text listing.

With it you can modify existing Flight plans or create flight plans from scratch with as many as 99 legs.

You do not have to use the created flight plan or the autopilot , but having it in the background provides you with data to a variety of reference points , and by viewing both the radar and text readouts you are always aware of your current position and where you are going .

If you do a search here at the Flightsim library for;

F-111 Pig HUD

Build Standard 8

in the preview you can see a large number of screen shots , many are of the instrument involved.