Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Garmin 1000 problems

  1. #1

    Default Garmin 1000 problems

    It seems I have managed to forget everything I learned about Garmin 1000 in my absence of flying MSFS 2020 for the last 5 months. When I take off both flight displays go black. What am I forgetting here?
    Omen 45L - Intel i9-12900K W/Liquid Cooler - 64Gb DDR4-3733MHz Heatsink RAM - GeForce RTX3080 - ATX 800W 80+ Gold PSU - 1x2 TB WD Black M.2 SSD. - Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit- Logitech Pro Flight Rudder Pedals- TrackIR v5 - Sony 4K 75" TV Monitor - Modified Obutto OZone Cockpit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,776

    Default

    Check that the Main Battery and Generator/Alternator switches are all ON before take-off.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Check that the Main Battery and Generator/Alternator switches are all ON before take-off.
    Yes, they are all on. Normally, I do not do cold starts. But, I tried to do a cold start to try and get around the problem. The pilot's display is on. I crank the engines, they run for a minute, then the engines cut off and the display turns black again. I cannot crank the engines again without doing a restart.
    Omen 45L - Intel i9-12900K W/Liquid Cooler - 64Gb DDR4-3733MHz Heatsink RAM - GeForce RTX3080 - ATX 800W 80+ Gold PSU - 1x2 TB WD Black M.2 SSD. - Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit- Logitech Pro Flight Rudder Pedals- TrackIR v5 - Sony 4K 75" TV Monitor - Modified Obutto OZone Cockpit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,776

    Default

    Which plane is this?
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Which plane is this?
    Beech Baron
    Omen 45L - Intel i9-12900K W/Liquid Cooler - 64Gb DDR4-3733MHz Heatsink RAM - GeForce RTX3080 - ATX 800W 80+ Gold PSU - 1x2 TB WD Black M.2 SSD. - Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit- Logitech Pro Flight Rudder Pedals- TrackIR v5 - Sony 4K 75" TV Monitor - Modified Obutto OZone Cockpit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,776

    Default

    Good choice! One of my favourites... After Sim Update 10, did you go into Content Manager and download all the updates there? If so, and your G1000 is fully updated to the new G1000NXi, the switch panel should look like this before takeoff (click the image to enlarge):

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Switches.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	201.5 KB 
ID:	231272
    Last edited by tiger1962; 09-28-2022 at 09:14 AM.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Good choice! One of my favourites... After Sim Update 10, did you go into Content Manager and download all the updates there? If so, and your G1000 is fully updated to the new G1000NXi, the switch panel should look like this before takeoff (click the image to enlarge):

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Switches.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	201.5 KB 
ID:	231272
    Yes Tim. I have kept up with all the updates. I have the G1000NXI. One thing I have figured out. On takeoff the magneto was in the start position which caused the displays to turn black. The one thing I cannot figure out is how to do the cold start. When I do the cold start the engines run, then shut off. So I am looking to see what I am missing.

    Thanks for your help.
    Omen 45L - Intel i9-12900K W/Liquid Cooler - 64Gb DDR4-3733MHz Heatsink RAM - GeForce RTX3080 - ATX 800W 80+ Gold PSU - 1x2 TB WD Black M.2 SSD. - Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit- Logitech Pro Flight Rudder Pedals- TrackIR v5 - Sony 4K 75" TV Monitor - Modified Obutto OZone Cockpit.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2014, 01:16 PM
  2. Celebrating 1000 posts - Hey Look Chairborne...I beat you to 1000
    By ytzpilot in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 05:45 PM
  3. Garmin 1000 Simulator
    By pete.matejcik in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 11:10 AM
  4. Garmin 1000
    By puissance000 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-30-2007, 11:40 PM
  5. Cessna 172 Garmin 1000
    By vern in forum FSX
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-25-2006, 05:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •