Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 52

Thread: AI Traffic Question

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Near EGCW
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Having written the foregoing, TBH I think Peter's suggestion above concerning the number and size of parking spots may give better results for less effort...

    It's worth using ADE or AfCAD to check what parking is available.

    D

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    .Lafayette la
    Posts
    106

    Default

    [QUOTE=defaid;2187811]
    ***

    I think that the repeat period has to be greater than the duration of the entire plan so if you have a 3hr 15min plan then 4Hr will be the best you can use. If you then want hourly departures I think you'll have to use the same plan several times over and stagger the departure times.

    ***

    This is how the flight plan was written in the WOAI American Eagle package.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    .Lafayette la
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defaid View Post
    Having written the foregoing, TBH I think Peter's suggestion above concerning the number and size of parking spots may give better results for less effort...

    It's worth using ADE or AfCAD to check what parking is available.

    D
    I do have Continental ERJ-175 aircraft landing and taking off as well as the default Boeing 737's.

    That is another question I have. How can I remove some of the default aircraft from landing and taking off

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    .Lafayette la
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defaid View Post
    In the base component of that plan:

    AC#1001,N625AE,26%,WEEK,IFR, (or whatever...)

    change WEEK to 24Hr That does daily. If the plan is of very short duration then you can do 1Hr, 2Hr, 4Hr, 6, 8 12 or 24. Then remove the day numbers from each leg so that

    6/18:08:05,@6/19:28:04,330,F,3430,KLFT,

    becomes

    18:08:05,@19:28:04,330,F,3430,KLFT,

    ***

    Note that the single line of plan about which you asked is cut up in the wrong places. Each leg of a plan ends with a PoA. They don't start with a PoD. All plans are circular and it's an oddity of the syntax that the initial departure point is thus written at the very end of the plan.

    ***

    I think that the repeat period has to be greater than the duration of the entire plan so if you have a 3hr 15min plan then 4Hr will be the best you can use. If you then want hourly departures I think you'll have to use the same plan several times over and stagger the departure times.

    ***

    If you download Lee Swordy's Traffic Tools (I've found it at Avsim and Flyawaysimulation but haven't found it here), the zip has a very good readme.htm that explains structure and modifications for each part of a complete plan. It's comprehensive and quite readable.

    Start with short one-liners and within a couple of days you'll be compiling entire airline schedules...

    D
    Maybe I copied it wrong, Does this look better

    KLFT,6/19:58:50,@6/21:18:49,320,F,3430,KDFW,6/21:49:34,@6/22:44:56,240,F,3327

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    .Lafayette la
    Posts
    106

    Default

    AC#1001,N625AE,26%,4HR,IFR,KLFT,19:58:50,21:18:49,320,F,3430,KDFW,21:49:34,/22:44:56,240,F,3327

    Like This? Do I just add this line somewhere if the Flight plan text?

  6. #16

    Default

    Again, the airports go at the *end of the sections, not at the beginning, and the initial departure point is at the end of the line. They have to be in the proper order. You also missed removing a / character.

    AC#1001,N625AE,26%,4HR,IFR,19:58:50,21:18:49,320,F,3430,KDFW,21:49:34,22:44:56,240,F,3327,KLFT

    and yes, this can be added as a new line in the AI traffic file.

    This plane will depart KLFT at 58 minutes after the hour every 4 hours. Normally you would not use a starting time like 19:58 with a 4 hour plan, but instead something like 00:58, 01:58, 02:58 or 03:58. But I believe TTools will change that for you.
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    .Lafayette la
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tgibson_new View Post
    Again, the airports go at the *end of the sections, not at the beginning, and the initial departure point is at the end of the line. They have to be in the proper order. You also missed removing a / character.

    AC#1001,N625AE,26%,4HR,IFR,19:58:50,21:18:49,320,F,3430,KDFW,21:49:34,22:44:56,240,F,3327,KLFT

    and yes, this can be added as a new line in the AI traffic file.

    This plane will depart KLFT at 58 minutes after the hour every 4 hours. Normally you would not use a starting time like 19:58 with a 4 hour plan, but instead something like 00:58, 01:58, 02:58 or 03:58. But I believe TTools will change that for you.
    Will TTools change it when it compiles the files?
    and do I need to delete the original flight plan?
    Last edited by btbenoit; 08-11-2022 at 01:39 PM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Near EGCW
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by btbenoit View Post
    Will TTools change it when it compiles the files?
    and do I need to delete the original flight plan?
    Traffic Tools will change the existing .bgl file.

    I'd suggest that you make a copy of it before starting on any changes, and put the copy in a safe folder so that you can revert if things go wrong.

    You'll need to decompile the existing bgl (WOAI_KLFT_Traffic.bgl or whatever it's called). You can do that with Traffic Tools. It will create three .txt files. To begin, it will be simplest if you use a plane that's already in use in the traffic bgl. That way all you have to do is add in a new plan.

    EGNX cargo plans decompiled:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	decompiled.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	101.9 KB 
ID:	230877

    Add your new plan here:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	the decompile output.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	354.1 KB 
ID:	230878

    It's worth making a backup before recompiling:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	back it up before recompiling.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	97.1 KB 
ID:	230879

    When you recompile, Traffic Tools will overwrite the existing bgl, in the same way as word or excel or whatever overwrites what you started with when you save. The original individual plans will all still be part of it, but with your new plan added on.

    D

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Near EGCW
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Here's a tip for creating new plans. To save the frustration of trying to spot a typo when the three text files failed to recomple, make your new flightplan leg by leg.

    Remove the line-breaks just before saving and recompiling.

    When each leg is on its own line, it's much easier to spot the errors before you try to recompile.

    D

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tip.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	280.2 KB 
ID:	230880

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    .Lafayette la
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Awesome, Thanks for the help. Hopefully my AI aircraft will start showing up.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-28-2017, 10:39 AM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-12-2005, 11:31 PM
  3. Fs Traffic / Ultimate Traffic / My traffic
    By GSalden in forum FS2004
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-12-2003, 11:52 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2003, 11:21 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-22-2002, 11:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •