Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Shuts down

  1. #1

    Default Shuts down

    Hi, Anyone having any issues recently with mfs just closing? 3 days ago i built a new computer and reinstalled fs on the new hard drive the down load went good and everything working fine,,, But yesterday i logged on and it was fine i set up a flight and right after i hit the fly button she just closes. I keep reopening it and it dont even say mfs shut down unexpectedly it loads perfect and the same issue everytime i hit the fly button to start the flight and she closes any ideas?


    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,720

    Default

    Basically you’re getting CTDs (crash to desktop) it could be hundred of things and there are hundreds of posts about it on this and other forums.
    If you’ve just built your pc then it’ll be hardware or possibly drivers. Firstly, can you list all your computer specs? (maybe list them as your forum signature)
    I presume you haven’t installed a load of addons yet?

    Regards
    Steve
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX3090 Aorus Extreme 24GB
    3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs - Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs.
    Reverb G2 VR Headset - Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit
    Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    879

    Default

    Like Steve pointed out, I would look to add on's as well. Usually they work, but occasionally one will sneak in and cause a CTD
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler

  4. #4

    Default

    do u guys mean the add on's from flight sim? cause u might be on to something i did download the add on's i all ready had from before so like i just went to the content manager and reinstalled all that i had and i only did one flight after that and it went fine then the next time i booted up the computer and ran fs it started to crash.
    Also i did install like 5 programs from the asus cd if that did anything?

    i just built a asus dark hero, amd 5950, graphics card i had all ready evga 2080 ti, 1tb the new samsung mme.2 or something i forget it lol and ram i had crossair 3400 64mb ram

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    879

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ralphie1313 View Post
    do u guys mean the add on's from flight sim? cause u might be on to something i did download the add on's i all ready had from before so like i just went to the content manager and reinstalled all that i had and i only did one flight after that and it went fine then the next time i booted up the computer and ran fs it started to crash.
    Also i did install like 5 programs from the asus cd if that did anything?

    i just built a asus dark hero, amd 5950, graphics card i had all ready evga 2080 ti, 1tb the new samsung mme.2 or something i forget it lol and ram i had crossair 3400 64mb ram
    Yes, any add on's that you put into your Community folder. I would take them ALL out, see if MSFS has a CTD. If not, then add in ONE add in, try a flight, see the result(s). Keep doing that until you get to an actual CTD, then take the last add on out, see if you get a CTD. That way you can narrow down the offending add on
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler

  6. #6

    Default

    sorry i am not to good with this stuff lol whats a ctd and how do i delete it ?

  7. #7

    Default

    y cant i find mfs on my c drive? i did download it through steam...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,720

    Default

    A CTD is a “crash to desktop” which is what is happening.

    Addons that you install via the content manager should be fine. It’s the ones that you install separately or place in the community folder. Mind you.. many if not most of these will be ok. It’s a case of narrowing it down and finding the one(s) causing the problem.

    However, my money is on your hardware. Ram maybe? I’m guessing you haven’t overclocked anything. Maybe you need the latest drivers?
    What speed are you running the ram at? If XMP is on, try disabling it so the Ram runs at default speed. Then launch MSFS & see if it crashes.

    Regards
    Steve
    Last edited by g7rta; 10-22-2021 at 11:32 AM.
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX3090 Aorus Extreme 24GB
    3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs - Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs.
    Reverb G2 VR Headset - Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit
    Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  9. #9

    Default

    sorry still dont understand when u say the ones i added separtely? i don't think i added anything outside of ones from the flight sim marketplace.
    the ram is the same ram i had been using before i switched to this mother board, but funny u said overclock i just did overclock yesterday and u right the crashes started after i overclocked so i did think about it last night so i went to the bios and hit reset to defaults and saved it but i did overclock it through asus software and i did hit some ram things i dont remember what specs do u need?

  10. #10

    Default

    oh wow wait i just remembered there is under asus suite 3 a function it says turbo app and asks u what app u want to add and i added mfs!! i am going to uninstall all the asus programs

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. gmax shuts down when zooming in !!
    By SillyFunkyDevil in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 06:29 PM
  2. fs2002 shuts down for no reason
    By pauls13 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-14-2002, 05:36 AM
  3. Scree Freeze/ system shuts down
    By coabill in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-27-2002, 11:22 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-24-2002, 08:42 AM
  5. Canada3000 shuts down...
    By pupuhead in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2001, 10:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •