Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Scenery FSX.CFG file problem

  1. #1

    Default Scenery FSX.CFG file problem

    Hello there.

    I recently had an issue where I had a SPACE in front of my Steam folder directory so removed this. It was causing all sorts of issues with Train Simulator which is why I changed it.

    However, it seems to have rather messed up my Scenery.CFG file as now I have a load of incorrect directory warnings clearly because it is still including the SPACE in front of the Steam folder. e.g. D:// Steam rather than D://Steam.

    How would I go about changing the directories as I assume that would fix the problem? I don't have any real knowledge of the Scenery.CFG file either.

    Many thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,434

    Default

    Hi...

    Try this....

    Go to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX and locate the scenery.cfg file.

    Make a backup copy of the file and store in a safe place.

    Open the scenery.cfg file in Notepad.

    You will see the entries for your scenery - they will look similar to this example...

    [Area.472]
    Local=Addon Scenery\LSZA Lugano AP
    Title=LSZA Lugano AP
    Required=FALSE
    Active=TRUE
    Layer=472

    The Local= entry is the entry that tells FSX where to find the scenery files...this will need amending for EACH entry

    Simply remove the 'space' for each problem entry and then save the file....do not rename it.

    If you make a mistake you can use the back up to create a new copy and start again.

    For more info on the scenery.cfg file and how it work see the info I have posted in this THREAD...

    Note my suggestion in that thread regarding using a program called Scenery Config Editor - if you download and install it BEFORE attempting what I have said above you can use its inbuilt editor to make the changes.... it will also highlight the problem areas for you...
    Regards

    Brian

  3. #3

    Default

    Hmm I can't find the below directory which is a bit of an issue?

    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K2rockall View Post
    Hmm I can't find the below directory which is a bit of an issue?

    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX
    Go to the same place your FSX.CFG hides.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,978

    Default



    Wim

  6. #6

    Default

    Try this you can change multiple entries in one go with this

    https://download.cnet.com/TextCrawle...-10805637.html
    i5 4690 (350mhz) with Arctic Cooler, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, ASUS Rock H97 performance mobo, Gainward Windforce GTX 960 OC 2GB, Windows10 64bit, 256mb Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,434

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K2rockall View Post
    Hmm I can't find the below directory which is a bit of an issue?

    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX
    As Wim has pointed out the folder may be hidden by default....

    Also, further to my last post...you may find that Local= entry may state Remote= instead...

    If this is the case simply change Remote= to Local=
    Regards

    Brian

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2014, 11:55 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2013, 04:39 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 11:29 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2004, 08:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •