Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Flying one aircraft affects another

  1. #1

    Default Flying one aircraft affects another

    Hi,

    After flying for a while OSB737-800, needed change, so (with the new UAL Star Wars paint) have downloaded B737-800 from TDS. Must say that the aircraft behaved strangely, did not rotate at the usual 150 or so knots but only slowly after 230 knots. Also was pitching down during climb. Totally unnatural, so got rid of this aircraft and went back to my OSB737-800.

    Surprisingly, my OSB737-800, which flew perfectly before I flew the TDS 737 does not behave the same anymore. It rotates differently and the pitch during the climb is different also.

    In brief, is it possible that flying one aircraft affects the characteristics of other aircraft.

    Understand, this sounds weird but never happened to me so thanks for any comments.


    Peter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Klammath Falls, OR
    Posts
    4,085

    Default

    And that, right there, is one of the main reasons to make sure of 2 things: 1) Ensure your default flight is the sim's original default, default flight, and 2) If you're going to swap planes in and out, make sure you have no AI active. No ships, no planes, airport vehicles, nothing.
    If you do have ANY AI active, it's possible that when you switch planes, the sim doesn't read, or entirely read, the new .cfg files. Panel.cfg, aircraft.cfg, all of them. It may keep part, or all, of the previous aircraft's .cfg files in memory, rather than replacing them with the new one.

    Have fun, all!
    Pat☺

    Had a thought...then there was the smell of something burning, and sparks, and then a big fire, and then the lights went out! I guess I better not do that again!
    Sgt, USMC, 10 years proud service, Inactive reserve now

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,345

    Default

    TDS aircraft, especially the 737 need a lot of elevator trim before takeoff. Can't think of anything that those installs would affect in your regular aircraft.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks Chuck and Pat.
    Interesting stuff.
    Got over 100 flyable aircraft. Most of the Airbuses and Boeings, lots of Toms classics, both small and large props and turbo props. Also lot of AI flying around.
    I have all aircraft saved with windows where I want them and the frequencies, headings saved with it. Fly the saved airplane for a while and then go to another saved and must say that I have never encountered one saved flight affecting another. Well, there is always something new, which makes the sim so interesting. Surprisingly after restarting PC the flights seem to be back to normal, so apparently the affect on the cfg was fixed in the memory by rebooting? Unless the FS has a mind of its own and will act again? But it is all worth it.
    Thanks for responding,
    Cheers
    Peter

  5. #5

    Default

    The TDS aircraft did not affect any of your other aircraft. It needs 5 degrees of flaps like a REAL airplane to get it to rotate at the correct speed. Do you not put flaps in your other aircraft? Doesn't sound very realistic.

  6. #6

    Default

    Hi Ross,
    and thanks for participating in this post. Yes, I always set the flaps prior to take-off roll, as per the prescribed procedures.
    Cheers
    Peter

  7. #7

    Default

    Hi,
    Have again checked the downloads and flew the tds_b737-800_base_package.zip. Have applied 15 degree flaps on take off and at 150kts pulled the yoke all the way to my lap and no luck. Finally at end of the runway at about 220kts the nose started to lift. On top when gaining altitude at about 1600 fps (250kts) the airplane climbed but was pitched down. See picture. Perhaps it has something to do with the load, which is off the scale forward (also in the picture). Tried to change the load also to get the COG within the scale - no luck, always way forward! Perhaps something specific to TDS B737? Or maybe an embarrassing trivia I am missing. If anyone has this aircraft please let me know if you are experiencing the similar behavior. Even better any remedy appreciated.
    Many Thanks
    Cheers
    Peter

    PS forgot to mention that I got TDS B737MAX, which flies perfect.

    Name:  B737 Star Wars.jpg
Views: 107
Size:  93.0 KB
    Last edited by beroun; 12-02-2019 at 01:56 PM.

  8. #8

    Default

    If you would please post the below values from you problem airplane's aircrft cfg
    perhaps we could point out what may be amiss and make it handle better on TO.
    Chuck B
    Napamule

    //---------------------------------------------------------------------
    [WEIGHT_AND_BALANCE]

    reference_datum_position= 0, 0, 0
    empty_weight_CG_position= 0, 0, 0

    //-----------------------------------------------------------------
    [fuel]
    Center1= 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, xxxx, 0
    LeftMain= 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, xxxx, 0
    RightMain= 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, xxxx, 0

    //-----------------------------------------------------------------
    [GeneralEngineData]

    Engine.0= 0.0, 0.0, 0.0
    Engine.1= 0.0, 0.0, 0.0

    //--------------------------------------------------------------
    [contact_points]
    point.0=1, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00,
    point.1=1, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00,
    point.2=1, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00,

    //-------------------------------------------------------------
    [airplane_geometry]

    oswald_efficiency_factor= 0.00

    htail_pos_lon= 00.0
    htail_pos_vert= 0.0
    htail_incidence= 0.0

    vtail_pos_lon= 00.0
    vtail_pos_vert= 00.0
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  9. #9

    Default

    Many Thanks Chuck,
    below as it came with tds_b737-800_base_package.zip download:

    [WEIGHT_AND_BALANCE]
    max_gross_weight = 174200
    empty_weight = 91110

    reference_datum_position = 0, 0, 0
    empty_weight_CG_position = 15, 0, 0
    CG_forward_limit = 0
    CG_aft_limit = 1

    max_number_of_stations = 13
    station_load.0 = 7600, 27.9, 0, 0, 1st Class
    station_load.1 = 6500, 15.6, 0, 0, Zone A
    station_load.2 = 5550, 3.2, 0, 0, Zone B
    station_load.3 = 3240, -9.0, 0, 0, Zone C
    station_load.4 = 6525, -21.3, 0, 0, Zone D
    station_load.5 = 1850, 22.9, 0, 0, Fwd Cargo
    station_load.6 = 4800, 2.6, 0, 0, Rear Cargo

    empty_weight_pitch_MOI = 1886301
    empty_weight_roll_MOI = 672652
    empty_weight_yaw_MOI = 4193105
    empty_weight_coupled_MOI = 0

    [fuel]
    Center1 = 14.53, 0.00, 0, 4299, 20
    LeftMain = 7.54, -17.12, 0, 1288, 20
    RightMain = 7.54, 17.12, 0, 1288, 20
    fuel_type = 2
    number_of_tank_selectors = 1
    electric_pump=0

    [GeneralEngineData]
    engine_type = 1
    Engine.0 = 17.71, -16.66, 0
    Engine.1 = 17.71, 16.66, 0
    fuel_flow_scalar = 0.740 //ORIG .785
    min_throttle_limit = -0.25

    [contact_points]
    max_number_of_points = 21
    point.0 = 1, 53.20, 0.00, -8.39, 1600, 0, 1.11, 75, 0.35, 2.89, 0.85, 6.0, 6.0, 0, 206.8, 281.6 //Nose
    point.1 = 1, 3.50, -10.94, -9.70, 1600, 1, 1.60, 0, 1.00, 1.43, 0.65, 7.0, 7.2, 2, 206.8, 281.6 //LMain
    point.2 = 1, 3.50, 10.94, -9.70, 1600, 2, 1.60, 0, 1.00, 1.43, 0.65, 6.5, 6.9, 3, 206.8, 281.6 //RMain
    point.3 = 2, 58.26, 0.00, 0.99, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //Nose Cone
    point.4 = 2, 47.13, 0.00, -3.87, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //Nose Gear Up
    point.5 = 2, -3.87, 0.00, -0.04, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //Tail Strike
    point.6 = 2, 18.53, -5.02, -6.54, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //Left Engine
    point.7 = 2, 18.53, 5.02, -6.54, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //Right Engine
    point.8 = 2,-47.53, 0.00, 4.71, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //APU
    point.9 = 2,-20.00, -58.75, 0.00, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //Left Wing
    point.10 = 2,-20.00, 58.75, 0.00, 2000, 0, 0.00, 0, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.0, 0.0, 0 //Right Wing

    static_pitch = -1.0
    static_cg_height = 8.8
    gear_system_type = 1

    [airplane_geometry]
    wing_area = 1341
    wing_span = 117.5
    wing_root_chord = 25.8
    wing_dihedral = 6.2
    wing_incidence = 1
    wing_twist = -0.5
    oswald_efficiency_factor = 0.68
    wing_winglets_flag = 1
    wing_sweep = 25
    wing_pos_apex_lon = 15.0
    wing_pos_apex_vert = 0
    htail_area = 352
    htail_span = 41.1
    htail_pos_lon = -52.16
    htail_pos_vert = 0
    htail_incidence = 4.5
    htail_sweep = 30
    vtail_area = 284.5
    vtail_span = 23.5
    vtail_sweep = 35
    vtail_pos_lon = -52.16
    vtail_pos_vert = 0
    elevator_area = 71
    aileron_area = 50
    rudder_area = 56
    elevator_up_limit = 30
    elevator_down_limit = 30
    aileron_up_limit = 19
    aileron_down_limit = 16
    rudder_limit = 30
    elevator_trim_limit = 15
    spoiler_limit = 60
    spoilerons_available = 1
    aileron_to_spoileron_gain = 1.5
    min_ailerons_for_spoilerons = 2.5
    min_flaps_for_spoilerons = 0
    auto_spoiler_available = 1
    spoiler_extension_time = 2

    Many Thanks for any help,
    Peter

Similar Threads

  1. Other affects when uninstalling
    By madair01 in forum FSX
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 02:34 PM
  2. Missing afterburner affects
    By jetguy35 in forum FSX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-04-2008, 02:47 AM
  3. Does nvidia PhysX affects FSX?
    By Localizer in forum FSX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-22-2008, 10:05 PM
  4. FSAutoStart affects McAfee afterwards
    By brillobo in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-2006, 04:33 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2005, 01:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •