Stormclouds on the horizon of Flightsim world?

HyFlyer

Jeez, already?

From a user's perspective it's easy to fall into the illusion that it's all just a bunch of guys and gals having fun flying our imaginary airplanes.

Then, every once in awhile you're reminded that this is a business for some, and there is green paper being exchanged and livelihoods at stake.

Whenever I get one of these inadvertent peeks under the carpet I always feel a bit disconcerted. Not always just fun and games, it seems.

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/509670-pmdgs-official-position-on-dtgs-fsw-pending-p3d-update-etc/#comment-3616551

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/509763-07may17-the-sorts-of-behaviors-that-cause-me-concern/

I guess that's the difference between payware and open source.

The bottom line is payware is there to make money.

I work in IT and write very basic programs. Some of these take many months of effort. Dread to think how much time has to be spent on a simulator.

It's a shame MS didn't offer the flight sim community FSX with an open source licence.

That is the only way a complex program of this type will every improve beyond it's profit margins.

When referring to something it is never a bad idea to give some sort of synopsis, because not everyone is interested enough to plough through two whole Avsim discussions.

The way I understand it, PMDG are whining that they would only be allowed to sell their products via DTG's Steam channel, something they are not willing to do because that would mean surrendering 65% of their revenue.

How surprising is that? DTG is not a charity, and their business model has been known for a long time.