Frustrated and ready to give up. Please help!

MikeN87

Hi everyone,

First let me tell you a little about me. I have been fooling around with flight sims since 2002. Both Microsoft and now X-Plane. I got my PPL this past April, and I absolutely love everything aviation. I have to say that, to me, flying a real plane is easier than flying a sim. I know that real world pilots use sims to keep there skills sharp, but up to now, I only get frustrated trying to set things up and get things to work right. Here's just one (and the latest) example. When I fly the Cessna in X-Plane, in cruise configuration, with no winds and trimmed for level flight, the plane slowly goes into a turn the right. I have a CH Products yoke, so I adjust the yaw trim to get rid of that turn, but then I notice the turn coordinator and the bubble is not centered. I have no idea why this happens, or how to correct it. Another problem I'm having is after I updated X-Plane on my Mac I can not bring down the menu on top. Frustrating to say the least.

I would even be willing to pay for a course or some kind of instruction to be able to use a sim to keep my skills sharp (sharper then not flying anyway)

Is there anywhere I could find such a course of training in central Jersey?

I thought about going to a real sim manufacturer, but I really don't have the space or the money for one of those systems

Not to take anything away from this forum, but just like we don't like to have lengthy, or detailed conversations using text messaging, I would prefer to speak directly with someone that can walk me through the many issue I seem to have.

If anyone know of some kind of class or one-to-one training, please help. I'm ready to give up with sims.

My advice is to get a desktop with Intel and a decent video card and go from there. A laptop is not going to make it, sorry to say. Good luck.

Chuck B

Napamule