Please need ideas on uninstall/reinstall FSX

Hello all:

Well, I find myself needing to uninstall and reinstall FSX after a run in with an add on. I have been simming for about 20 years over several platforms and I can't remember ever having to do this before. I have tried everything I could think of to salvage the current install but it just seems to be fatally corrupted. So here's my question: I know there is an uninstall function on Disc 1 of FSX and of course there is also Win 7 uninstall at the control panel. So which one should I use? Should I do anything else after the uninstall to clean it up?

Thanks in advance

http://support.precisionmanuals.com/kb/a87/how-to-uninstall-and-reinstall-fsx.aspx

This has always been highly recommended. Any thoughts on a REPAIR rather than the uninstall?

Yes. I ran repair three times and it was doing stuff but whatever it was doing didn't work. When I try to launch FSX the dialogue box pops up and says something like "Files are unavailable/bad" and closes FSX. I will probably try again but maybe I'll defrag before trying. BTW, I found a good thread right under my nose on this. https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showthread.php?271827-How-To-Correctly-Uninstall-amp-Reinstall-FSX. Thanks for answering Mr. Z. I'll check PMDG and report back after the dust settles.

remove any add ons first. . preferably with their uninstal links but should work just swell with win 7. check for any add on folders left behind and remove

then win 7 uninstal via the control panel for fsx.

check that you have removed any folders again afterwards by performing a fsx search

also check in the app% roaming folder for any left behind definitions.

that should do you.. I have uninstallled reinstalled many time over the years and never had a problem

i did purchase recently a disk clean up software to help looking for left behind folders but manual search should be fine