Ask about ILS

c119

I'm a rookie for FSX, recently thanks your advices i was been able to follow a flight plan by GPS. Now i'd like make landings guided by the ILS, i've tried many times, but i cannot get it.

Could you help me ? Please tell me step by step.

This is the cockpit of the Lockheed U2 with the AutoPilot and Radio .

U2.jpg

Set the ILS frequency on NAV 1.

Intercept the ILS at around 30 degrees and just below the glideslope, then turn on "approach" on the auto pilot and that will take you down the approach. You will of course need to control speed and flaps yourself.

At around 200 feet above the runway, you can switch the autopilot off and land manually.

IAN

Ryzen 5800X3D, Nvidia 3080 - 32 Gig DDR4 RAM, 1TB & 2 TB NVME drives - Windows 11 64 bit MSFS 2020 Premium Deluxe Edition Resolution 2560 x 1440 (32 inch curved monitor)

Two common misconceptions new pilots have:

1) If you activate the Approach mode too far away from the runway, the autopilot will have ILS (directional) control only and no GS (glideslope altitude control.) To solve this, only activate APP mode AFTER the GS marker has appeared at the top of your Attitude Indicator.

2) Your altitude before attempting to capture the GS must be such that your Attitude Indicator displays the GS needle above half way. If you use approach charts, the correct GS capture altitude is shown, if not, the rule of thumb which always works is around 12 - 14 miles from the runway, use an altitude between 3000 and 4000 feet ABOVE GROUND LEVEL of the Airport (AGL.) You have chosen to learn ILS approaches in an aircraft which is more difficult than average. Try learning on a simpler aircraft like the Cessna and work your way up to complex aircraft.

-Pv-

2 carrot salad, 10.41 liter bucket, electric doorbell, 17 inch fan, 12X14, 85 Dbm

No - you don't have to set up any instruments.