PC Controllers for Helicopter Sim (FSX)

Rebrecs

Good Morning !

Admittedly, I have not done a thorough pre-post search, but I did enough to find out this is a sparse topic 🙂

I recently put a couple of toes in the water attempting to fly the choppers included with FSX. Wow ! Lots of challenges ahead if I keep going.

So far, it is fun.

Topic is game controllers that work well for flying Helicopters. I fly fixed wing with a HOTAS Thrustmaster.

At this point, I'm not experienced enough to know what questions to ask. My observation and gut feel is the sensitivity is too high on the Thrustmaster. I understand there might be settings for that, which I will explore. But, if there are better controllers, I would like to know that too.

Any and all comments here would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,

2 hours ago, Rebrecs said:

HOTAS Thrustmaster

This will work just fine, as long as you remember to make all inputs slow and smooth.

There is a lot of discussion about throttle control vs a collective configuration.

I have used a throttle for years and do not find it a distraction.

Keep in mind the the V-22 has a controller that looks and functions quite like a HOTAS throttle.

The technical discussion of throttle vs collective, rpm goveners etc, leave those to later.

People forget that the sim allows helo flight in quite a different manner than the actual aircraft.

Biggest and best advice I can give, practice, practice and practice.

You will get frustrated, so consider that a right of passage.

• Like 3

Always Aviate, then Navigate, then Communicate. And never be low on Fuel, Altitude, Airspeed, or Ideas.

phrog x 2.jpg

Laptop, Intel Core i7 CPU 1.80GHz 2.30 GHz, 8GB RAM, 64-bit, NVIDIA GeoForce MX 130, Extra large coffee-black.