Garmin GPS500 . Can this be done?

Cas141

I'm relatively new to the GPS navigation having got the basics, (just). I can make a flight plan in FSX and use the GPS going from waypoint to waypoint.

However, I tried something that didn't work.. Before GPS if I wanted to "shorten" the flight, I would go to World, then Map, then move the plane symbol along the flight plan line to near the destination airport. Then I went back into flying and carried on ok. If using fs Commander, then that picked up the new position, but the Garmin 500 GPS doesn't, I.e it still has me going to the waypoint that I have in fact passed.

How do I set the next waypoint to be the one it should be in view of my "new" position?

I figured it should be a case of me setting the relevant waypoint somehow. I did find too that when I went to type in a new waypoint ( I didn't know exactly what I did to bring that up, mind😊), nothing happened when I typed on the keyboard?

Step by step assistance would be highly appreciated please, if possible. Or a relevant article.

TIA

I'm relatively new to the GPS navigation having got the basics, (just). I can make a flight plan in FSX and use the GPS going from waypoint to waypoint.

However, I tried something that didn't work.. Before GPS if I wanted to "shorten" the flight, I would go to World, then Map, then move the plane symbol along the flight plan line to near the destination airport. Then I went back into flying and carried on ok. If using fs Commander, then that picked up the new position, but the Garmin 500 GPS doesn't, I.e it still has me going to the waypoint that I have in fact passed.

How do I set the next waypoint to be the one it should be in view of my "new" position?

I figured it should be a case of me setting the relevant waypoint somehow. I did find too that when I went to type in a new waypoint ( I didn't know exactly what I did to bring that up, mind😊), nothing happened when I typed on the keyboard?