ATC has a mind of its own (sometimes)

sidfadc

Hi,

I'm pretty new to FSX but lately only a couple of times I've had complete misdirection from ATC on an ILS approach. I've almost perfected the ILS approaches now after a lot of trial and error with a little help from Google.

Last night I was flying into Adelaide. At 13NM out I still hadn't received expected runway, heading and approach instructions. Anyway I was on a particular heading as advised by ATC and looked to be on track. When ATC did give me the runway and heading it was in completely the opposite direction. I continued with it thinking it will be corrected but I ended miles away from the airport.

Is this a bug or am I missing something?

Cheers

Thomas

1) The default ATC has a lot of oddities. It's not coded to have human intelligence.

2) If you are using real-time live weather, the wind can change directions and only a few degrees can cause the logic to flip to another runway.

3) You can use the ATC dialog to FORCE the AI ATC to use the runway of your choice.

4) If you want totally realistic ATC with human intelligence, there are free multiplayer servers like Vatsim where you can fly with other human pilots and human ATC who handle problems more intuitively.

5) Don't expect too much of the AI ATC. It's not perfect.

-Pv-

2 carrot salad, 10.41 liter bucket, electric doorbell, 17 inch fan, 12X14, 85 Dbm

If you expect rw10, and atc gives you rw28, land rw28. Landing rw is based on wind direction, which can change fast.

Sometimes when you cancel landing and request landing a few minutes later, rw10 is active again. Especially with an external weather program, winds can change often.

"ATC is always right." follow their instructions, or go around if unable, and you will soon realise your mistake.