New Member / SR-71 Video

ferrc5041

Hey everyone,

New member here, and just wanted to tell everyone I am glad to be part of the community and to say "Hello". My interest with aviation and flight began when I was a young kid and took in my first airshow. I came from a family of mostly engineers in various fields, but one of the coolest to hear stories from was my own Grandfather, who worked as an Engineer with NASA during the Gemini and Apollo days. My favorite aircraft would definitely be the SR-71... I was infatuated with this jet, as a lot of us aviation heads are, at just the engineering marvel it was... the records it held... and the collective knowledge and expertise that went into practice a half a century ago to make this bird. No matter what may come out next... it will always hold a special place in my heart of hearts for aircraft.

I am fairly new to flight simming, but it is growing on me very quick.

I made my very first flight video of taking my AlphaSim SR-71 up to around 90,000 out of Edwards.... I was seeing how far I could push its operational ceiling, but my KEAS was drooping into

the problematic range..... so I got her up to about 91,000 at MACH 3 before descending.... anymore loss of KEAS at that point would have resulted in an Unstart condition.

The video came out pretty good I think for my first one.... it is Full HD, and to the "Apollo Main Theme" music of James Horner... but I am looking next to upgrade some scenery as it looks pretty bland. It is about 10:00 long... but encompasses Engine Start, through checks, to Landing.

Anyways, I am thrilled to be a part of other aviation and sim heads around here...

Here is a link to the Video for those that would like to check it out.....

Till next time,

Casey