Formation Aerobatics Practice in Virtual Reality in A2A P-51H Mustangs

Guest Robert455

Awesome video Robert! Formation flying in the sim is quite difficult..especially with the very sensitive AI. Any slight movement on the vertical axis can send the AI bobbing up and down quite drastically. Adding VR into the mix looks even more difficult. Very smooth frame rates though. I'm envious ;)

JOE- Asus P8Z68- V Pro; CPU: Intel i7-2600K 3.4ghz OC'd 4.6Ghz,

8G Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-1600, EVGA 1080Ti 11G ACX Cooler

Samsung 500G OS drive, 3 WD 1T Raptor HDD

Guest Robert455

Hi Joe! Thanks! Glad that some enjoy this stuff. ;-)

And I know what you mean about trying to fly formation with the AI. They don't warn before turns but it was how I started practicing. Much prefer humans though. The guys I fly with and I use TeamSpeak or Discord to coordinate and warn.

But if anything, I think VR makes it easier to fly formation. You sense moving closer or farther away as well as closure rates easier IMO. The big disadvantage in VR comes in having to fight the urge to not get so close. It's really weird but to get in really tight you have to overcome the pretty real fear of a collision. No way I can describe it. You just really don't want to hit that other airplane even though you know deep down it isn't real.

The guy I was flying with is just amazing with his skills. He can just pull up on your wing and park there. He does that with a monitor too. It's pretty awe inspiring to watch him fly. He's just that good. One thing he mentioned and I need to try it is he trims nose down and then always has back pressure and just modulates that for pitch instead of trying to go for neutral stick. Sounds like it makes sense but I haven't tried it yet to know how it works for me.

Anyway, cheers!