Celestial Nav and Dead Reckoning Across the Ocean to a Tiny Atoll...

Hello,

I recently got curious about celestial navigation, and that led me to the very cool sextant guage that was created for FS9 (I think) and ported over to FSX by Kronzky. Since this forum is where I've found the majority of discussion about this guage and the techniques of navigating with it, I thought I'd post a summary of my first long flight using it (Ford Island NAS to Johnston Atoll, the sample flight suggested in the sextant documentation). I'm a RW pilot but haven't done any serious dead reckoning in a real long time, so that was fun in itself.

I used the vintage cockpit reworking of Jahn's C-47 (v3.12), and used compass, sextant and dead reckoning only. No radio aids (though there is an NDB charted on Johnston, don't know if it exists in FSX), and certainly no GPS or shift-Z for position or wind data. I used Google Earth to plot on, and a combination of skyvector and ASN's flight planner to put the the dead reckoning together. U.S. Naval Observatory for assumed position celestial data (Sun only, this was a daytime flight).

It's roughly 710nm to Johnston Atoll from Ford Island in Honolulu. Using the 10 to 1 rule of dead reckoning, we figure our maximum likely dead reckoning error at the end of the trip is 71 miles. It could theoretically be in either direction, so we intentionally offset our course so we know for sure which way to turn to find the atoll. We therefore offset our course to arrive 71 miles NNW of Johnston Atoll at 0230z, having already noted in the celestial data that the Line Of Position from the sun that passes through Johnston Atoll at that time is running 341-161 degrees. We therefore plan to arrive at that point 71 miles NNW of Johnston at the proper time to intercept that LOP, so we can turn SSE and keep taking sun shots if necessary to follow that LOP to the atoll.