Starting from Scratch again - what is the best package?

Thermocline

Hi Guys

I've been flying with various sims for ages but for the past 5 years or so I've been on a break. I got rid of all the sims I had and went on to other things. I'm getting the bug to start again but this time I thought I'd take advice from the experts.

I'd like to know which flight sim is the best for the PC (64bit Intel i7 with loads of RAM etc). Also, I'd like to know what extras I should get to give the best real-life experience possible. I live in Southern Scotland but like to "fly" all over Scotland. Are there special extra packs of realistic scenery ? What about cities and airports, are there extras for them?

From the reading I've done it looks like FS2004 might be the best choice but I'd love to hear what you all think.

With regards to aircraft, I'm more than happy with the basics right now. I prefer to fly an aircraft I might actually fly in real-life (with a bit of imagination).

I look forward to your ideas

Jim

Hi, FSX is the most popular flight sim around, followed by X-Plane10 and FS2004, so take your pick..:)

I've tried them all and prefer FSX myself.

The latest version is FSX:SE (the SE stands for Steam Edition), available by download from Steam here-

http://store.steampowered.com/app/314160/

But check if there's Scottish scenery available for it.

I haven't got FSX:SE, I've got FSX Gold on 8-year-old disks.

I know Scotland scenery is available for FSX Gold, but whether it'd work with FSX:SE I don't know, so maybe other people can tell you if FSX Gold downloads will work with FSX:SE.

PS- for the record FSX was originally released in 3 editions in 2006 and 2007 in this order-

Standard

Deluxe (has a few more extras)

Gold (same as Deluxe but also includes the Acceleration Pack)

Then in 2014 Steam Edition (FSX:SE) was released, it's got a few tweaks that are supposed to improve things for some users, and is more multiplayer-friendly.