Absolute newbie here...Hello & a few q's

Tpflyer88

Hi all,

Great to find this forum. I've always been interested in Aviation/flying. Took 3 hrs basic flight training 20+ years ago - but never had the resources to continue.

And I have flown in excess of 3 mill commercial miles - so I know all about riding in planes!

Had Flight Sim 2004 long time ago - but never really used it. So now I have some time & resources. Thought I might give it a try. Been reading thru the forums and whew - never knew it was so complex. Some people have amazing setups! Not ready for that...so here's a couple basic questions that I either missed the answer too, or was confused.

#1 - Software - for FSX-SE. The most basic Q - do you have to be connected online to use FSX-SE? Or do you download, and then it can be used offline? I've seen conflicting answers.

#2 - Hardware - I'm in the market for a new laptop anyway. Reading here that the recommended system is specially built desktop systems. But can I run the base program from a laptop? I saw an ASUS with Intel i7 4720HQ chip & Nvidia GeForce GT 930M graphics and 8GB RAM.

Is that enought to start with the base package? No customization. Just start flying a Cessna or Beech and maybe play around with the jets that come with FSX-SE?

And then add just a basic joystick for external control - I understand using M&Kb is not recommended.

And then if I get into it - and want to expand could go to a more specialized system.

Thanks & look forward to learning more!

Cheers!

Hi and welcome (back) to the world of simming madness ;)

#1 FSX SE can be used offline too. Unless you want real world weather, that data needs to be downloaded frequently.

#2 Vanilla FSX will run on that laptop. But you will hit the performance wall pretty fast when you start dropping in any addons. Maybe you should stay away from the payware offerings in general. There are a lot of people on these forums knowledgable about the freeware gems, just ask around.