Navigating High Alt. Intersections w/o VOR freq. and Course

clively79

Hello everyone,

I'm a novice FSX user with a little navigational understanding. I am not a flight student or pilot by any means. I'm gotten the hang of hopping from one intersecting VOR to another given the freq. and course of each VOR. What I'm having trouble figuring out is the named intersections that appear when I attempt to fly a high alt jetway. The flight-plan that FSX generates doesn't indicate what the corresponding VORs and courses when leaving one course and proceeding along the next leg.

are these intersections intended solely for computer aided navigation such as an FMC? or is there a method to deriving the corresponding VOR's their frequencies and the intended course?

I've gone so far as to look for real world charts, draw a line from the new course to the nearest VOR station, but when flying over open ocean, these VOR stations are often to far away for the NAV radio to contact.

There has to be a way, is there not?

You can try out this planner: http://vfrflight.org.

Not exactly an IFR planner, but it can be used for VOR to VOR navigation and it imports all IFR routes and points from FSX/P3D.

Once you create a flight plan, you can review all VOR radials with DME's at any of your route point. Take a look at this screenshot:

4.jpg

You can use it on separate PC to review your VOR frequencies.

Hope that helps.

Hello everyone,

are these intersections intended solely for computer aided navigation such as an FMC? or is there a method to deriving the corresponding VOR's their frequencies and the intended course?