Back at it and looking for advise

Thomastp

I just purchased a new PC with flying a simulator as one of the requirements. I bought the following machine.

Dell XPS 8700 Desktop | Intel Core i7 | 4GB Graphics

Windows 8.1

16GB Memory

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745 4GB DDR3

1TB SATA 6Gb/s,7200RPM

I'm an instrument rated pilot and I fly a Piper Saratoga Turbo. The main reason for flying a simulator is to practice instrument approaches. What would be the best software to use. From scanning the forum I see several packages available. What I want is realism in the cockpit. I'm not that concerned with scenery. I want to configure a Saratoga with steam gauges, Garmin 530 and 430, Stec 55 A/P, and a Garmin GMX 200 MFD. What would be the best software to achieve my goals? As a side note, when I was doing my instrument training I used Microsoft Flight Simulator on DOS and it was a big help, especially learning how to fly the NDB approaches. The last package I used was Microsoft Flight Simulator 95 and it worked great with steam and analog navigation. I was amazed how well ATC worked. Anyway on to bigger and better.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Most people use FSX now but it is an aging platform,X-Plane is also popular but I understand the learning curve setting it up properly is a bit steep. Then there is Prepar3d,Lockheed-Martin has appropriated Microsoft's ESP and have improved on it quite a bit, however,it has a license purchase to use it. Most of FSX's add-ons will work in P3D so it too has become an alternative to FSX/X-Plane. For what you are trying to achieve FSX with a payware bird from someone like Carenado, Real-Air or A2A with their "accu-sim" are great in the sim,best of luck and welcome back to simming!

• 2 weeks later...