I RL-flew from KLAX to KORD Friday on an American B-787, my second trip in the Dreamliner. I was sitting in the forward cabin. While the flight was boarding, I was admiring the plane’s avionics through the flight deck’s open door. I asked a flight attendant if I could have a closer look. Sure, she said and conducted me to the doorway, where she introduced me to the pilots—who invited me in. Standing behind them, I asked if I could take a picture. Sit down, they said. We’ll take your picture. So here I am, in the captain’s chair—at the gate. I told them I was an armchair-MSFS pilot. I asked them how soon they engaged the AP after takeoff and when the disengaged it before landing. They said that in VFR conditions, they would hand-fly the plane to 18,000 ft. although other pilots would engage the AP shortly after takeoff. When landing, they said, they would disengage it at 3,000 ft. But of course, they said, the plane could land itself. 585a0b246250f0fdc39992e23454132d.jpg

On the B-787 flight deck, at the gate.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

HP Omen 25L Desktop, Intel i7-1070 CPU, 32 GB DDR RAM, Nvidia 3070 GPU, 1 TB SSD, Logitech flight yoke, throttle quadrant, rudder pedals, multi-panel, radio panel, TrackIR 5

Hi Steve, thanks for sharing! You’re making us all jealous though :)

Regards

Steve

Intel I9-13900K - Gigabyte Z790 Aorus Elite AX - 64Gb DDR5 5600Mhz - Asus RTX4090 ROG STRIX 24GB

3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs - Corsair RMx 1200W PSU - 2 x 2TB M.2,  2 x 4TB SATA III and 1 x 4TB M.2 SSDs.

Pico 4  VR Headset - Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit

Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

Feeling genuine thrills on your behalf for having this experience! Totally awesome.

As I've started getting to know more RL pilots, there's definitely admiration by them of MSFS. The young CFI who flew me around the island of Kaua'i actually built his own computer just to fly MSFS, which he uses for various practice reasons.