Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Joystick Hat stopped working in P3d V4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mojave Desert, California
    Posts
    1,283

    Default Joystick Hat stopped working in P3d V4

    For some reason the joystick hat stopped working in P3d V4. Its not a hardware problem as they (either joystick) work fine in any other Flight Sim including V3. I hit the reset to default. Still no joy. Was using Microsoft Sidewinder Precision Pro when I experienced the issue at a program start up. Switched to my Thrustmaster and it responded identically so it must be an assignment issue within the program. However, in either case I am unable to reassign the hat though I am unsure if I picked the right settings in the controls menu.

    View does respond to the keyboard.

    Has anyone had this problem and if so how did you fix it? What should I be looking at in the controls?

    Thanks in advance.
    AMD 8350 Eight Core 4.0ghz oc'd to 4.4, 8 gig 2133 DDR3 64 bit ram, Microsoft Sidewinder Precision II. GeForce GTX 970 w/4gig
    OS=Windows 10 64 bit, FSX w/Acceleration & P3d v3.4, REXII, OrbX
    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,228

    Default

    I have a Thrustmaster HOTAS and have had no issue with in P3D v. 4.3, 4.4 and 4.5 with the hotfix. So not a P3D issue.

    Jorgen

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mojave Desert, California
    Posts
    1,283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    I have a Thrustmaster HOTAS and have had no issue with in P3D v. 4.3, 4.4 and 4.5 with the hotfix. So not a P3D issue.

    Jorgen
    This is hardly a relevant response to the question. What happened in your world is not the standard for every individual though I'm glad you've never had the problem, which is probably why you don't seem to have a solution.

    I did NOT ask about a hotfix. I asked about the joystick hat stopping to relate to the controls in the program. I hate to repeat myself but since this respondent obviously didn't actually read the issue as I first listed it, I will repeat myself. Both joysticks work fine with all simulators. They still work fine with all other simulators except the V4 apparently somehow stopped relating to the hat in my joysticks. All other controls work fine) It is in all probability an assignment issue, but I can't get the hat to be reassigned to the joystick. When I try to reassign, nothing happens. Anyone who has experienced this happening and has a useful suggestion, please respond. Also, in the controls where would the assignment take place?

    Thanks
    Last edited by jring2; 06-28-2019 at 05:04 PM.
    AMD 8350 Eight Core 4.0ghz oc'd to 4.4, 8 gig 2133 DDR3 64 bit ram, Microsoft Sidewinder Precision II. GeForce GTX 970 w/4gig
    OS=Windows 10 64 bit, FSX w/Acceleration & P3d v3.4, REXII, OrbX
    John

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Burbank CA USA
    Posts
    2,432

    Default

    Look very closely at all your assignments that relate to visuals and movement. Something is in conflict. There are two devices trying to ocntrol the hat switch. Check any addons recently installed. Do you use anything like TrackIR, EZDoc, etc.

    Check %appdata%/Lockheed Martin/Prepar3d v4/controls - - rename STANDARD.XML and let P3D rebuild it - that's where all your assignments are stored. If it now works - compare the two files.

    Good luck,

    Vic
    P3D Rig
    I7 7700K @ 5.0ghz Asus Maximus X270 16G G.Skill 3600 15-15-15-18 2T EVGARTX2080ti Corsair 1000W PSU 1TB Samsung SSD for P3D - 2 - 256G OCZ Vector SSD - HAF X - Corsiar H100i V2 Liquid Cooler W10 64 Pro.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mojave Desert, California
    Posts
    1,283

    Default

    Thanks for the input vgbaron. No joy on the outcome though. When I delete the xml file and it rebuilt, it still didn't work. I did a repair with the install file and it worked once but not the second time I started the program. I guess "didn't work" is inaccurate. It does respond to an up, up/left, and left input which is what it would do before the repair. Nothing else on the hat however. All other joystick controls work as assigned. What is a head scratcher is that I have added no new software since well before it stopped working. The most recent was Australia 2 from orbx but it worked many times after that install. I use none of the software you mentioned. The standard.xml lacks any axis data at all on the first startup and I can see no noticeable problems on the second startup that would conflict with the hat input though the file is 3 times larger.

    The repair on the install totally messed up my textures, so I am guessing I will be uninstalling - reinstalling. Hopefully it will work after that. V3 works fine so something in V4 got corrupted.

    Sigh. . . back to the drawing board.
    AMD 8350 Eight Core 4.0ghz oc'd to 4.4, 8 gig 2133 DDR3 64 bit ram, Microsoft Sidewinder Precision II. GeForce GTX 970 w/4gig
    OS=Windows 10 64 bit, FSX w/Acceleration & P3d v3.4, REXII, OrbX
    John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,228

    Default

    "something in V4 got corrupted".....

    Simply not true. If something in v4 got corrupted, then everyone, including me, would have the issue.

    Jorgen

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mojave Desert, California
    Posts
    1,283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    "something in V4 got corrupted".....

    Simply not true. If something in v4 got corrupted, then everyone, including me, would have the issue.

    Jorgen
    So everyone's P3d v4 runs off my hard drive? Your logic defies logic I'm afraid Jorgen. You may want to bow out of this discussion as you're hurting your credibility. Of course a file on my hard drive could get corrupted without it happening on anyone else's hard drive. I can only assume you had difficulty with my english in the ask.
    AMD 8350 Eight Core 4.0ghz oc'd to 4.4, 8 gig 2133 DDR3 64 bit ram, Microsoft Sidewinder Precision II. GeForce GTX 970 w/4gig
    OS=Windows 10 64 bit, FSX w/Acceleration & P3d v3.4, REXII, OrbX
    John

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,228

    Default

    John,

    Before you attempt to insult my intelligence further, you might like to know that I have worked in computer tech support, both hardware and software, with major U.S. manufacturers of the same, from 1993 until I retired in 2009.

    Now, simple logic says that if something in P3D v. 4 is corrupted, EVERYONE should see it, and L-M's own support forum should be full of it. The basic fact of life, and that is what you need to grasp, is that WE DO NOT see it - in other words, the issue is on your system.

    Once you grasp that, and get to grips with it, we can start working on the issue.

    There were several instances where I had to transfer very irate customers to my supervisors because they wouldn't believe what I said, and they got the message that I was absolutely correct and they would need to calm down so we could figure out what the problems was and start working on resolving the real issue. Your situation exactly, except there are no supervisors here.

    That's the way it works.

    Jorgen

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mojave Desert, California
    Posts
    1,283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    John,

    - in other words, the issue is on your system.


    Jorgen

    Precisely! You are starting to get it!
    AMD 8350 Eight Core 4.0ghz oc'd to 4.4, 8 gig 2133 DDR3 64 bit ram, Microsoft Sidewinder Precision II. GeForce GTX 970 w/4gig
    OS=Windows 10 64 bit, FSX w/Acceleration & P3d v3.4, REXII, OrbX
    John

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,228

    Default

    You apparently missed the point completely....

    Jorgen

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-23-2018, 08:40 AM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 10:28 PM
  3. smart tecnology has stopped working + joystick av8r
    By danielrlzj in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2013, 07:30 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2002, 08:18 PM
  5. Panning using Joystick Hat - Help!
    By mattius in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2002, 05:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •