Xplane 11 beta and user manual now available

derrski

has anyone been able to actually install this? I've downloaded the trial twice and unzipped the installation file, but windows stops the install and when i go around windows to continue the install, the installer program reports that it isn't compatible with the operating system [10] ??

Xplane 11 will be a game changer for sure! I;m running t he beta at all graphic settings max'd and still get 20+ FPS on my system. The scenery and textures are amazing!

As a long-time FSX pilot, I am thoroughly impressed with XPlane 11! This is what FSX users have been waiting on for years. I have a lot of time and money invested in FSX- I have nearly all of the ORBX addons, Aerosoft airports, Flightbeam scenery, Carenado, Milviz, A2A aircraft and just about every other high-end addon you can think of. XPlane seems to have that complexity programmed in (Thank god for 64-bit code!). I have been testing out the perfromance for the last day and here is what I am getting:

• All rendering options are set to MAX with the exception of AA- That is at 2X SSAA+FXAA (about mid-range)
  • Running at full screen, 2560x1440 32-bit on a BenQ 144MHz LCD monitor
  • FOV is set to 60 degrees
  • VSync is not checked
  • World objects set to MAX
  • Reflection Detail set to MAX

With the above settings in the C-172 Skyhawk, I can fly around KSEA and the city and the lowest FPS I was getting was 19. My FPS ranges from 19-25 in these areas. I was trying to find some action that would impact it. I don't see any settings for traffic gen but i imagine that would change this a bit.

The items I was really impressed with, especially in a beta, were:

• Trains, cars, trucks- the level of detail is astonishing! I saw police cars with their lights going.
  • The terrain detail- I was flying around KSAN and some other southwest areas- the shadowing detail is incredible