Tricky usage of AM

raywing

When I studied the UDP protocol of AM, I found a tricky usage of AM. AirManager use port 55557 for communicating with the FSXplugin , and 55556 with xplane plugin. when you use xpl_command("string_with_value"), you can receive a string include "string_with_value" on FSX machine @port 55556.

In this case, you can write a LUA script in your FSX/P3D module directory which is created by FSUIPC, and establish a UDP socket to receive the string, and trigger your ipc.writeXXXX functions!!!

-- FSX UDP data transfer program

local socket = require "socket"
local udp = socket.udp()
local port = 55556 -- Use this port to receive data from AirManager

udp:settimeout(0)
udp:setsockname('*', port)    --Make the machine with the port for receiving flight data from AM

local data, msg_or_ip, port_or_nil
local running = true
while running do
   data, msg_or_ip, port_or_nil = udp:receivefrom() -- get data from Air Manager

if string.sub(data, "string") == "string" then
               ipc.writeLvar("Lvar name", value)  -- e.g.
               ipc.writeDBL (offset, value)           -- e.g.
       end

elseif msg_or_ip ~= 'timeout' then
            print("Unknown network error: "..tostring(msg_or_ip))
       end

socket.sleep(0.050) -- pause for 50ms
end

I successfully use this trick to write a Instrument (actually is a UI) for Flight Plan control panel and show some flight data.

• 1 month later...
Guest sikorsky77

Hi Raywing

That means we could also read Offset or Lvar with Ipc.read..(....) and send them to Air Manager ???

for example turn a button in cockpit and interact with element of an Air manager gauge

Best regards

Thierry

Hi,

We have the plan to include LVAR support in the next AM 2.1.1 release.

I have the system working, but it still needs tweaking to get it working with all the versions of FSX.

Subscribing to a LVAR is exactly the same as subscribing to a normal SimConnect variable:

Example:

function callback(value)