Quick Review of 21:9 Dell Ultrawide Monitor with FSX

20150312221036_IyEnKfSG_IMG_3904.jpg

Hi all,

Just wanted to share some short information on a 21:9 Ultrawide Monitor, which I ventured out and purchased.

Summarised in one word: "AWESOME".

The model i purchased (impulse buy to the max, as a self-birthday gift :P) is Dell's U3415W 34" Curved Ultrawide monitor.

There are couple more alternatives I believe, primarily from LG which produces the original panel.

The advantage of Dell model in my opinion is:

- Curved!! Great thing to show off to friends and others.

- Matt display, easy and soft on the eyes. (This is personal preference though..some do prefer glossy LCDs)

- Colour calibrated. I am an amateur photographer of a sort, and I can tell this does really good colour reproduction.. (but then, LG might also be calibrated...someone can correct me anytime.)

20150312221036_XKJOyzgd_DSC00021.jpg

A bit of general review:

- Native resolution is 3440x1440. Dell calls it the "3K" monitor, slightly short of 4K.

- This monitor would not exactly replace a triple monitor setup as the length is not sufficient. It is approximately 2 monitors wide.

- Size-wise, if it's any help, the monitor is approximately 2x size of typical 24" 1080p Monitor side by side.

- The display is sufficiently curved yet when you look from front you don't notice it much. It really does add some nice "wow" factor.

- You must use DisplayPort for a full image performance (resolution and refresh rates). If you use HDMI, there are chances that you won't get full resolution, or stuck with 30Hz refresh rate which is quite laggy. The monitor comes with HDMI and DP cable bundled, so as long as your graphics card has a DP output, you are ready to go.

- U3415W has both MiniDP and DP ports available.