If my drive is cloned, will my FSX still work?/

lehbird

Hello:

I am having issues with my hard drive so I am having it replaced. They are going to "clone" my drive for a seamless transition. They are telling me I will not need to reinstall any of my software, it will all still operate as it does today. Will that hold true for FSX?

Thanks,

Dave

Yes, that would hold true for all apps and games on your system, provided they do a true clone and not a copy/dump. I work in IT and have cloned many drives, your PC will not know the difference.
AMD FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz water cooled - 8GB DDR3 1866Mhz - 2 Geforce 480's 1.5GB each (non-sli) 2Seat SimPit - 8 Monitors - Saitek Gear -

Yes, that would hold true for all apps and games on your system, provided they do a true clone and not a copy/dump. I work in IT and have cloned many drives, your PC will not know the difference.

Great; thanks so much for the reply!!

I cloned my hard drive which contained fsx and other games. After the cloning, all games worked just fine and fsx itself worked fine. But I had to reinstall all Just Flight addons and many Orbx addons. Most other addons worked fine.

My FSX installation is on drive D. Will it work if I format my Win7 system which is on drive C? Both drives are on the same physical harddisk.

Hi Aero,

Unfortunatly in your case you wont be so lucky. Even though your FSX is installed on your D drive the installtion process still creates registry keys on the C drive. It also creatses application data for FSX in your windows user profile. Basically the "meat" of FSX is on your D drive, but it still has references in windows on the C drive.

AMD FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz water cooled - 8GB DDR3 1866Mhz - 2 Geforce 480's 1.5GB each (non-sli) 2Seat SimPit - 8 Monitors - Saitek Gear -

I have a similar question...

My FSX installation is on drive D. Will it work if I format my Win7 system which is on drive C? Both drives are on the same physical harddisk.

Thanks!