Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Basic gmax Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA.
    Posts
    56

    Default Basic gmax Question

    Greetings All,

    I never got FS2002Pro, and I know that all the required files for gmax were included with the product. I have FS9, and I've downloaded gmax from Discreet, but my investigations have shown that the I still need some required plug-ins.

    Am I stuck waiting until Microsoft releases the plug-ins again so I can use gmax with FS9?

    Regards,

    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York City, NY, United States of America.
    Posts
    1,016

    Default RE: Basic gmax Question

    You can download the SDK's for FS2002 here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/games/fligh...nloads_sdk.asp

    The one you'll want is the MakeMDL SDK. It comes with a document explaining how to use it (sort of). As long as you follow the SDK, any plane made for FS2002 will work with FS2004. There were a couple of changes and additions that came with FS2004. Though people know what most of the changes were, no one quite knows about the additions. I think FS9 comes with an updated version of the makemdl.exe program somewhere in the installation (version 1.2)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hammond, IN USA
    Posts
    4,796

    Default RE: Basic gmax Question

    >You can download the SDK's for FS2002 here:
    >
    >http://www.microsoft.com/games/fligh...nloads_sdk.asp
    >
    >The one you'll want is the MakeMDL SDK.

    And of course you must have the FSModelExp.dle installed, which is NOT AVAILABLE except on the FS2k2/Pro CD's... legally, that is.

    If someone really wanted it though, there are at least three places where it may be found, but you have to "google.com" it... :)
    Bill Leaming
    Gauge Programming - 3d Modeling Military Visualizations
    Flightsim.com Panels & Gauges Forum Moderator
    Flightsim Rig: Intel Core i7-2600K - 8GB DDR3 1333 - EVGA GTX770 4GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    Development Rig1: Intel Core i7-3770k - 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD7770 SLI 1GB - Win7 64bit Professional
    Development Rig2: Intel Core i7-860 - 8GB DDR3 Corsair - GeForce GTS240 1GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    NOTE: Unless explicitly stated in the post, everything written by my hand is MY opinion. I do NOT speak for any company, real or imagined...

Similar Threads

  1. Very basic gmax questions
    By meltsner in forum Scenery Design
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2009, 09:40 PM
  2. Basic Gmax
    By goldhawk in forum Scenery Design
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2009, 04:33 PM
  3. Basic Basic
    By SPOFF in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 04:22 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2004, 01:14 AM
  5. Basic Question
    By prfxshn1977 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2002, 02:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •