Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 1 GB memory vs. 2 GB memory running FS9 and Windows XP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Urbandale, Iowa, USA.
    Posts
    174

    Default 1 GB memory vs. 2 GB memory running FS9 and Windows XP

    Would there be a performance improvement in FS9 if I upgrade from 1 GB of memory to 2 GB of memory running Windows XP?

    Current rig setup:
    -AMD Athlon 64 4000+
    -ASUS A8V Deluxe mobo
    -Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2PRO 1GB Kit DDR400 XMS3200 Dual-Channel ProSeries Memory (2x512)
    -Windows XP Home (SP 2)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,623

    Default RE: 1 GB memory vs. 2 GB memory running FS9 and Windows XP

    For FS9, probably not much, if any, improvement unless you are running with high resolutions and high detail add-ons. Battlefield 2 however, will gladly use 2GB of RAM.

    loki

  3. Default RE: 1 GB memory vs. 2 GB memory running FS9 and Windows XP

    You won't notice any performance gain. The only reason I have 2GB is for BF2.
    Dell XPS720 Red | Core2Quad [email protected] | 2GB DDR2 800Mhz | 500GB 7200RPM | 768mb GeForce 8800GTX | X-Fi | TV Tuner | 2407WFP-HC | Vista Ultimate

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manchester, England.
    Posts
    1,178

    Default RE: 1 GB memory vs. 2 GB memory running FS9 and Windows XP

    I recently upgraded from 1GB to 2GB and have found that the sim's performance does xseemx to be xever-so-slightlyx more stable when using the very detailed payware aircraft such as the Level D 767 & the Flight1 MD-80. I don't want to lead you up the garden path in saying that, as it could just be me, but that is just how it xseemsx IMO. It is very hard to give a definite conclusion however, and if it was conclusive then it is only a very slight improvement indeed. Not really worth paying the money that I did...yet that is what I found personally and thought it was worth mentioning. However, I am xstillx pretty disappointed with the overall performance I get when flying these particular aircraft though, but that's another issue...

    Other than when flying those aircraft, the sim seems pretty much the same in terms of FPS.

    I am slightly more convinced about the effect that adding the extra RAM had on blurries though. Whilst I do still get blurries on occasions, in general things do seem slightly better in that regard.

    The only change for the better with the extra RAM which I can say IS conclusive, at least on MY system, is the fact that changing views in 2D panel mode is now instantaneous. Yet I don't really use the 2D panels myself..! Also, I can now cycle between 2D, VC, spot and tower views instantaneously without any delay whatsoever. Not much of a consolation for the hole in my wallet though if you ask me.

    And I didn't notice any improvements whatsoever in terms of loading times.

    Just my two cents.

    Nick Barnes,
    Manchester, U.K.

    P4P800-E Mobo
    P4 3.2 GHz CPU/800 MHz FSB
    2GB Corsair XMS3200XL Pro PC3200 RAM
    Powercolor X800 Pro 256MB
    Antec TruePower 430W PSU
    160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HD
    Win XP Home SP2

Similar Threads

  1. Video Card Nvidia GTX 960 2 gb or Nvidia GTX 1050 ti 4 gb
    By PE 561 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2017, 02:05 AM
  2. Ram 4 GB, 8 GB or 16 GB
    By usb777 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-22-2014, 11:05 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-14-2013, 02:22 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 09:03 PM
  5. Increase memory DDR2: 2 Gb for 4 Gb ?
    By inca in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-22-2008, 06:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •