Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78

    Default FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

    I start FS -9 the default settings start up King air engines Start, I push the power levers up
    And the Ac rolls a few feet and Freeze's

    FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

    I have a default set up at KAVL NC in the King 350
    I have renamed the config file to Config old.
    I have cleaned contacts ( soft pencil eraser ) and re-seated the Video Card.


    This system has worked flawlessly up until about a month a go, I did replace a fail HDD
    It seems that The system worked fine after the HDD replacement.
    reinstalled a new Copy of XP Pro.

    a MAXTOR Sata unit 300 Gig I am using about 30 Gig on this machine

    I have un installed FS-9 and reinstalled same results

    I have installed the latest Direct X
    and the latest ATI catalyst software.
    Tonight!

    Win XP PRO sp2
    Pentium 4 2.8 GHz
    2 gig MB RAM
    Micro Star PT880 MB

    128 DDR ATI Radeon 9800 Pro

    USB SoundBlaster Audigy 2
    FS9.1

    Norton System works
    also added latter Fix it Pro 6
    It is killing me!
    Any Ideas?

    Video Card Failling?
    Slidder's are moved to default Position.


    Thanks!!
    av8tor39!
    a Real airplane driver Too!
    B777, Da2000, Da20, CE 500,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tennessee, USA.
    Posts
    1,754

    Default RE: FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

    Hi,
    Impressive list of AC you fly in real life.

    Wondering if only the King Air does this, or all AC?
    Seems like you have updated all, etc.

    Have you tried looking at the "Event Viever" for maybe a general idea of why the program is locking up?
    Start/Settings/Control Panel/Administrative tools/ event viewer.

    That may give an indication if it is a module or particular file/driver in the system. I am not a hardware guru, but I know this Viewer has helped many with lockups, and did not know where the problem was.

    I'll keep an eye on this thread.
    Take care,
    Gary

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78

    Default RE: FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

    Gary,

    I will look into this, No I have not done that!

    Thanks for the Comment

    It has been a rough road in the real aviation world! but fun!


    Thanks Avi8tor39!

  4. #4

    Default RE: FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

    Hi,
    Just a thought on your problem, I had (have) a very similar one with my system and searched for about 6 months to find an answer, yesterday I finally managed to turn of the "Vibration" controls in Windows' system control on my joystick, and spent two hours flying without one system crash. I do not know if it is the final answer but it maybe worth a try before you tear your hair out.
    Good luck
    Anthony
    :)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,171

    Default RE: FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

    Hi,

    Uninstall your sound card and reinstall the latest drivers. That might do it.

    Hope this helps,
    Jim
    http://www.hifisim.com

    http://sales.hifisim.com/pub-downloa...evelopment.jpg http://sales.hifisim.com/pub-downloa...nner-proud.jpg [hr][link:www.jdtllc.com|http://www.jdtllc.com/images/rcv4bannersupporter.jpg]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78

    Default RE: FS 9 Locks up computer after approximately 1 minuet. and the audio squeals

    I would like to take a moment and thank every one that responded to my problem,

    It turns out that I did have a Video card that has a problem

    I replaced the ATI 9800 Pro 128 meg video Ram

    with a Nvida G4 6600 256 DDR
    and It works great

    I have most of the sliders 3/4 or better and driving 2 monitors
    I am getting frame rates in the 35 to 40 in the DFW area.

    Again Thanks for the input.

    av8tor39.


Similar Threads

  1. fs locks up and frezes
    By skycapchad in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 12:07 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 11:27 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-29-2003, 07:52 AM
  4. FS Locks Up Online
    By BAS_CEO in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2002, 05:26 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-16-2001, 02:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •